Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cheese


ham&ex

Recommended Posts

ham&ex Rookie

I have been looking for a ricotta cheese that does not contain gluten, but I know they are made with vinegar so I contacted Sargento. They were very helpful and to the point.

They wrote:

* * * * * * * * * *

Thank you for your question. We're pleased to tell you that most

Sargento natural cheeses should be acceptable to a gluten-free diet.

There are, however, a few exceptions.

There is wheat gluten in Sargento Blue Cheese. Sargento Imitation

Mozzarella Shredded Cheese contains a modified food starch that may

contain gluten. Those on a gluten-free diet should also not eat the

following Sargento Snacks: Cheeze and Sticks, Cheeze and Pretzels,

Cheeze and Crackers, Strawberry and Sprinkles, Chocolatey Chip, or

S'mores.

You will notice that we use microcrystalline cellulose, calcium

carbonate, or potato starch as anti-caking agents on our shredded

cheeses. When added to shredded cheese, they prevent the shreds from

sticking together.

Microcrystalline cellulose is a white, odorless, tasteless, totally

natural powder made from cellulose, a naturally occurring component of

most plants. Calcium carbonate and potato starch are also natural

ingredients. None of these anti-caking agents is derived from wheat,

rye, oats or barley; therefore, they are acceptable to a gluten-free

diet.

The source of vinegar in Sargento Ricotta Cheese can vary; however, it

is triple distilled, and, to the best of our knowledge, no gluten is

present.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have questions about how

our

products may affect your medical condition, we suggest you discuss this

information with your physician.

* * * * * * * * * *

I know distilled is supposed to be okay, but I just can't bring myself to trust it, so I'm going to do things like my great grandma and make my own ricotta. You know, as much as she wouldn't have understood gluten intolerance, she would have liked that it has forced me to do things in the old way.

  • 5 years later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Jennjjh Newbie

The information from Sargento was very helpful,thanks so much for sharing it!

I am in search of a gluten-free Blue Cheese. I have heard that one exists, but have just started my research.

As far as the vinegar goes... always follow your "gut" as to what feels safe to you, but I have used several distilled vinegars that "sound safe" to me and so far (3.5 years) have never had a problem. At the same time, you are willing to make FRESH ricotta - Your Great Grandma would be so proud! Enjoy.

Lisa Mentor

The information from Sargento was very helpful,thanks so much for sharing it!

I am in search of a gluten-free Blue Cheese. I have heard that one exists, but have just started my research.

As far as the vinegar goes... always follow your "gut" as to what feels safe to you, but I have used several distilled vinegars that "sound safe" to me and so far (3.5 years) have never had a problem. At the same time, you are willing to make FRESH ricotta - Your Great Grandma would be so proud! Enjoy.

Open Original Shared Link

There are several threads regarding blue cheese here. Most blues should not be a gluten issues. If it had a natural starter, the gluten remaining would be so minimal, it should not be an issue for those with Celiac. Most blues are started with synthetic starter and not a gluten issue.

Read the label and choose for your self.

Tripled distilled vinegar, is safe for most Celiacs.

Lisa Mentor

Mozzarella Shredded Cheese contains a modified food starch that may

contain gluten.

This response from Sargento is misleading. I may fly to the moon someday, too. :huh: If the MFS contained wheat, it by law, must be listed as "Modified Food Starch - Wheat". If it is just listed as above, in the US it's derived from corn.

This is Sargento's response on their FAQ - updated 1-2010

. Is there gluten in Sargento cheeses?

We are pleased to tell you that most Sargento natural cheeses should be acceptable to a gluten-free diet. However, there are a few exceptions.

There is wheat gluten in Sargento Blue Cheese. Those on a gluten-free diet should also not eat the following Sargento Snacks: Cheese Dips! Cheddar Dip & Buttery Pretzels, Cheese Dips! Cheddar Dip & Zesty Ranch Bagel Chips, Cheese Dip & Sticks, Cheese Dip & Cheddar Sticks, Cheese Dip & Pretzels, Cheese Dip & Crackers, Chocolate Dip & Cookie Sticks or S’mores.

You will notice that we use microcrystalline cellulose, calcium carbonate or potato starch as anti-caking agents on our shredded cheeses. When added to shredded cheese, they prevent the shreds from sticking together.

Microcrystalline cellulose is a white, odorless, tasteless, totally natural powder made from cellulose, a naturally occurring component of most plants. Calcium carbonate and potato starch are also natural ingredients. None of these anti-caking agents is derived from wheat, rye, oats or barley; therefore, they are acceptable to a gluten-free diet.

The source of vinegar in Sargento Ricotta Cheese can vary; however, it is triple distilled, and, to the best of our knowledge, no gluten is present.

We hope this information is helpful. If you have questions about how our products may affect your medical condition, we suggest you discuss this information with your physician.

***notice there is no mention of Modified Food Starch being an issue

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,984
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    henrygreen
    Newest Member
    henrygreen
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Okay, it does make sense to continue the gluten challenge as long as you are already in the middle of it. But what will change if you rule it out? I mean, you have concluded that whatever label you want to give the condition, many of your symptoms improved when you went gluten free. Am I correct in that? According to how I understand your posting, the only symptom that hasn't responded to gluten free eating is the bone demineralization. Did I misunderstand? And if you do test positive, what will you do different than you are doing now? You have already been doing for years the main thing you should be doing and that is eating gluten free. Concerning how long you should stay on the gluten challenge, how many weeks are you into it already?
    • WildFlower1
      I mean that I will be re-taking the celiac blood test again while I am currently on the gluten challenge right now, but not sure how many weeks more to keep going, to ensure a false negative does not happen. Thank you.
    • WildFlower1
      Thank you for your help, I am currently in the middle of the gluten challenge. A bit over 6 weeks in. At 4 weeks I got the celiac blood tests and that is when they were negative. So to rule out the false negative, since I’m in the middle of the gluten challenge right now and will never do this again, I wanted to continue consuming gluten to the point to make sure the blood tests are not a false negative - which I did not receive a firm answer for how many weeks total.    My issue is, with these blood tests the doctors say “you are not celiac” and rule it out completely as a potential cause of my issues, when the symptoms scream of it. I want to rule out this 30 year mystery for my own health since I’m in the middle of it right now. Thank you!
    • trents
      I am a male and had developed osteopenia by age 50 which is when I finally got dx with celiac disease. I am sure I had it for at least 13 years before that because it was then I developed idiopathic elevated liver enzymes. I now have a little scoliosis and pronounced kyphosis (upper spine curvature).  All of your symptoms scream of celiac disease, even if the testing you have had done does not. You may be an atypical celiac, meaning the disease is not manifesting itself in your gut but is attacking other body systems. There is such a thing as sero negative celiac disease. But you still have not given me a satisfactory answer to my question of why do you need a differential dx between celiac disease and NCGS when either one would call for complete abstinence from gluten, which you have already been practicing except for short periods when you were undergoing a gluten challenge. Why do you want to put a toxic substance into your body for weeks when, even if it did produce a positive test result for celiac disease, neither you or your doctors would do anything different? Regardless of what doctors are recommending to you, it is your body it is affecting not theirs and they don't seem to have given you any good justification for starting another gluten challenge. Where you live, are doctors kings or something?
    • WildFlower1
      Sorry to put it clearly, at 15, infertility started (tried to word it nicely) meaning menstruation stopped. Which is in correlation to celiac I mean. Thank you. 
×
×
  • Create New...