Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

gluten-free Vegan Or Ef Bakers


lizard00

Recommended Posts

lizard00 Enthusiast

What do you use to substitute egg yolks? When the purpose of the egg is moreso for the emulsifying properties of the yolk as opposed to the leavening properties of the white, what do you use? I have experimented with olive oil in combo with egg replacer, but I don't love it. I know that you can use flax, but this particular experiment had to be flax free. Any other suggestions?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mushroom Proficient

vegetarian.about.com recommended mashing up half a banana or using 1/4 cup apple sauce.

GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

What are you trying to make? If it's a dressing they do make vegan mayo which may be closer to what you are trying for. It's usually made from soy however, which I can't do so I don't know the brands that are both vegan and gluten-free off the top of my head.

ETA: sorry just noticed your siggy says you are soy free too. If you are looking for a recipe for egg free, soy free and gluten-free mayo (which can also be used for dressings) there is one here: Open Original Shared Link (I have not tried it)

lizard00 Enthusiast

I was making a couple of different things. Bread, scones and these chocolate cake thingys. For the bread, it's the yolk that gives it texture, as well as the white that makes it rise. I ended up putting a little more yeast and a little more EVOO and it was all good.

But for something like the cake, it was trickier. And its something that I don't particularly want to put a mashed up banana or applesauce in, for taste reasons. Guess I could give it a try and see, though.

Just curious if there are some tricks that I don't know about. B) Thanks everyone for your suggestions so far! Keep em coming.

GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

I was making a couple of different things. Bread, scones and these chocolate cake thingys. For the bread, it's the yolk that gives it texture, as well as the white that makes it rise. I ended up putting a little more yeast and a little more EVOO and it was all good.

But for something like the cake, it was trickier. And its something that I don't particularly want to put a mashed up banana or applesauce in, for taste reasons. Guess I could give it a try and see, though.

Just curious if there are some tricks that I don't know about. B) Thanks everyone for your suggestions so far! Keep em coming.

Are you using any Xanthan gum or guar gum? Also if you are experimenting with texture there is a long thread here about using psyllium husk in bread. I don't know if those experiments were vegan however. Just a minute I'll see if I can find the thread.

ETA: Here it is:

It's an interesting read and might give you some new ideas. :)

mommida Enthusiast

try the gelatin for egg substitution?

I have the hardest time replacing eggs.

lizard00 Enthusiast

Are you using any Xanthan gum or guar gum? Also if you are experimenting with texture there is a long thread here about using psyllium husk in bread. I don't know if those experiments were vegan however. Just a minute I'll see if I can find the thread.

ETA: Here it is:

It's an interesting read and might give you some new ideas. :)

I'm using both gums, separately, though. One is for someone who is corn allergic, down to the xanthan gum level. It's not that it has to be vegan, per se, but it's easier to ask it that way since it is for someone who needs it to be egg free and dairy free.

I'll have to check out psyllium husk, too. It's funny that you put that thread in there. I PM'd Riceguy for some advice, and in his answer was a mention of the Uprising thread. He is my baking hero! :D

Mommida: eggs are the hardest, IMO, to replace. They do SO much in baking.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,802
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Bobby L Sanchez
    Newest Member
    Bobby L Sanchez
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...