Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Just Diagnosed


Boss'Wife

Recommended Posts

Boss'Wife Rookie

Hi all I am from SE Ks and was just diagnosed last Tuesday with Celiac....Lets just say this first week has been rather difficult. Not sure what I can or can't eat or drink. I love Dr. Pepper but According to the food list I found I can't have carmel coloring ugh and it's in everything... Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you ;)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



gluten free overseas Apprentice

Dr. Pepper is gluten free. This is the info from their web site:

Q: Does Dr Pepper contain gluten?

A: All of our products are considered gluten-free. Note: All products, which contain High Fructose Corn Syrup, may contain trace amounts of corn gluten. According to the Celiac Sprue Association, corn gluten is not harmful to people with Celiac Sprue disease. We encourage consumers with specific questions about Celiac Sprue to contact the Celiac Sprue Association at www.csaceliacs.org.

So... if corn doesn't bother you, go ahead and drink Dr. Pepper.

kareng Grand Master

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

I'm in the KC area/Johnson County. We have older liscense plates that have a wheat stalk on them. :angry:

psawyer Proficient

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

All true. I'll add maltodextrin to the list of myths--its gluten-free for sure. And wine is safe, no matter how many times you hear the myth about how the barrels are sealed.

Welcome to our community. :)

psawyer Proficient

Oh, and speaking of misinformation from old lists, vinegar (except for malt vinegar which will always be so described) and modified food starch are okay. The landscape changed over five years ago when FALCPA took effect. Wheat must now be explicitly declared and cannot be hidden. As a result, many ingredients on old lists are no longer a concern. Starch, when a single-word ingredient, is corn starch.

This is an old quoted post, but Laura's information is still spot on.

Unsafe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

Safe ingredients: https://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

A list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." Open Original Shared Link This makes shopping MUCH easier.

FDA foods are required to list wheat - it cannot be hidden.

Rule #1: Never eat anything without reading the label first.

Rule #2: Consistently check labels, even of your favorite products, as product formulations can change.

Rule #3: If you are unsure of an ingredient, or the company's policy on labeling, call the phone number on the back of the product or email the company.

Hope this helps.

kareng Grand Master

Oh, and speaking of misinformation from old lists, vinegar (except for malt vinegar which will always be so described) and modified food starch are okay. The landscape changed over five years ago when FALCPA took effect. Wheat must now be explicitly declared and cannot be hidden. As a result, many ingredients on old lists are no longer a concern. Starch, when a single-word ingredient, is corn starch.

This is an old quoted post, but Laura's information is still spot on.

This is all very well & Good but there is still a wheat stalk on my license plate!

gluten free overseas Apprentice

SERIOUSLY??!!! I've been avoiding tea from teabags for NOTHING???

This was a very good thread--the previous info I read (new to the gluten free diet) was outdated, apparently.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Yup Apprentice

To help you with recipes google Stephanie O'Dea. She made one gluten-free recipe for 365 days while using her crockpot.

Paula

psawyer Proficient

This is all very well & Good but there is still a wheat stalk on my license plate!

Okay, DO NOT eat your license plate. There are much better dietary sources of iron. :blink:

love2travel Mentor

carmel coloring in the US doesn't contain gluten, It is one of those annoying myths. Envelope glue doesn't contain wheat, tea bags aren't sealed with wheat paste or any paste, etc.

I'm in the KC area/Johnson County. We have older liscense plates that have a wheat stalk on them. :angry:

If it makes you feel any better license plates in Saskatchewan still sport several stalks of wheat!

  • 2 weeks later...
Langenke Newbie

Welcome to our community!

I have joined a few of these support groups online, and it helps you feel not so alone. I drink mostly tea, water, nut milk, and clear sodas. All sodas should be fine however. Just some advice I wish so badly someone would have told me when I was first diagnosed.....get a really good fiber supplement. I get the kind that is fruit flavored and chewable. It is actually a nice treat everyday for me. Celiacs do not get the recommended amount of fiber as a result of our diet usually (No wheat, rye, oats, barley etc). The lack of fiber landed me in the hospital with an intestinal blockage about a year ago a few months after being diagnosed.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,877
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    SamEsplanade
    Newest Member
    SamEsplanade
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
×
×
  • Create New...