Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Peace A Pizza


AzizaRivers

Recommended Posts

AzizaRivers Apprentice

I heard from a celiac friend the other day that Peace A Pizza makes gluten-free now. He said they put it in a separate oven and have a separate set of equipment to prepare it with. All second-hand info, have not seen or asked myself. He said it's not on the menu yet and not at all locations. Apparently it was pretty good.

Anybody tried it? Heard anything?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Peace A Pizza Newbie

I heard from a celiac friend the other day that Peace A Pizza makes gluten-free now. He said they put it in a separate oven and have a separate set of equipment to prepare it with. All second-hand info, have not seen or asked myself. He said it's not on the menu yet and not at all locations. Apparently it was pretty good.

Anybody tried it? Heard anything?

Thanks so much for your interest in our gluten-free pizza! Though it is prepared separately, we do not put it in a separate oven. We do, however, use different pans with higher sides so that they're less likely to interact with anything else that may be in there. We are doing what we can to accommodate for any allergies and diseases. This is not advertised in our menu yet, but it IS offered at every location (except for Stone Harbor). Please feel free to spread the news by word-of-mouth in the meantime. And again, thanks so much for your interest!

  • 3 months later...
heather Goble Rookie

I was very excited to hear from a friend that peace a pizza now offers gluten free pizza, but was discouraged when she told me that they uses spelt. Spelt is not gluten free and is part of the wheat family. So bummed! I have missed real pizza so much and got really excited.

Skylark Collaborator

I was very excited to hear from a friend that peace a pizza now offers gluten free pizza, but was discouraged when she told me that they uses spelt. Spelt is not gluten free and is part of the wheat family. So bummed! I have missed real pizza so much and got really excited.

Your friend must be mistaken. Nobody who runs a big chain of restaurants is dumb enough to think spelt is gluten-free. I'm sure the pizza is safe.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...