Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Opinions On Black Diamond Cheese


Newtoitall

Recommended Posts

Newtoitall Enthusiast

Ok so I walked away with nothing but confusion, after reading that.

I'm not sure if it's one of those... they just can't say it's gluten-free or.. it's CC'd somehow?

I was wondering because I wanted to try

Open Original Shared Link

the ingredients seem fine?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

First - That post was from 2005. 6 years is a long time in product info.

I eat the cheese because its cheese. As far as I can tell, a cheese factory makes cheese & maybe various dairy products. There is no reason to think there is wheat anywhere near the milk & cheese. Maybe in the breakroom?

lovegrov Collaborator

You absolutely do NOT have to worry about cheddar cheese (or pretty much any cheese for that matter). And as kareng has pointed out, you can safely ignore a 6-year-old thread.

richard

psawyer Proficient

This is in regard to Canadian rules. In Canada, since cheese is naturally gluten-free, it is considered misleading to describe any particular cheese as gluten-free. Only products which might reasonably contain gluten, but in fact do not, can be marketed as "gluten-free." You can say something like: "this cheese, like all cheese, is gluten-free."

ETA: I eat Black Diamond Cheddar regularly.

T.H. Community Regular

As far as I can tell, a cheese factory makes cheese & maybe various dairy products. There is no reason to think there is wheat anywhere near the milk & cheese.

I literally just came across a glutened cheese today for the first time (aside from some super fancy Bleu cheese): beer-washed cheese. :blink:

This is the kind I saw today: Open Original Shared Link

I had no idea this even existed! I looked on the web and it looks like ale washed or beer washed cheeses are not from this company alone, although not ever-present, either, thankfully.

Sigh...guess these might be something in the category of 'also processed in a factory that processes wheat,' if a cheese company also makes beer washed cheese.

kareng Grand Master

I literally just came across a glutened cheese today for the first time (aside from some super fancy Bleu cheese): beer-washed cheese. :blink:

This is the kind I saw today: Open Original Shared Link

I had no idea this even existed! I looked on the web and it looks like ale washed or beer washed cheeses are not from this company alone, although not ever-present, either, thankfully.

Sigh...guess these might be something in the category of 'also processed in a factory that processes wheat,' if a cheese company also makes beer washed cheese.

There are some specialty cheeses made with beer. Regular grocery store mass produced is what we were talking about. If it's made with beer, it will proudly state that fact. Only some beers are made with wheat so it might not say wheat. All non- gluten-free beers are made with barley .

My hub came home from a Boy Scout camp out. They had stopped at the Osceola ( Missouri) cheese factory. They make delicious specialty cheeses. He had a cheese with blueberries and a beer cheddar. Oops! He said they were good. :)

love2travel Mentor

Some gourmet cheeses imported from Europe can contain gluten.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Some gourmet cheeses imported from Europe can contain gluten.

Can you give some examples? I've never seen these.

richard

love2travel Mentor

Can you give some examples? I've never seen these.

richard

I cannot recall the brand names (one was French) and we do not have any left in the fridge. Next time I see one I will write it down. They are rare cheeses, though, definitely not available in grocery stores. One I saw was in Italy I think.

Skylark Collaborator

If you're ultra-sensitive, there is the blue cheese question too. Many blue cheeses are 100% naturally gluten free but some artisan cheeses have the mold culture started on bread. There is still no detectable gluten in the finished cheese so even the cheeses with cultures that were started on bread are safe for almost all of us. If you're unlucky enough to react to distilled alcohols or other grain-based products that also have no detectable gluten it's something to be aware of.

This is a fabulous article from the Canadian Celiac Society about blue cheese with the testing.

Open Original Shared Link

By the way, I wouldn't hesitate to buy that Black Diamond cheese. I don't even worry about blue cheeses myself after reading that article. I'm not sensitive enough to react to things that test essentially gluten-free. :)

lovegrov Collaborator

"This is a fabulous article from the Canadian Celiac Society about blue cheese with the testing.

Open Original Shared Link

Thanks for the article. Bottom line: Canadian celiac society has listed blue cheese as safe for 20 years now. And the testing done for this piece using three highly sensitive tests found NO detectable gluten in 4 brands with a gluten base starter. One of the tests even looks for protein fragments.

Blue cheese simply is not something to worry about.

richard

Skylark Collaborator

Blue cheese simply is not something to worry about.

For most folks, no. However, I am continually amazed by a small group of people on this board whose immune systems do not miss a single molecule of gliadin peptide. These individuals are far more sensitive than an R5 or even a protein fragment ELISA. Rather than providing blanket statements of safety, I think it's better to provide accurate information and let everyone select foods according to their personal levels of sensitivity. B)

lovegrov Collaborator

For most folks, no. However, I am continually amazed by a small group of people on this board whose immune systems do not miss a single molecule of gliadin peptide. These individuals are far more sensitive than an R5 or even a protein fragment ELISA. Rather than providing blanket statements of safety, I think it's better to provide accurate information and let everyone select foods according to their personal levels of sensitivity. B)

OK, to be more accurate, blue cheese is considered a safe food by all or nearly all celiac associations and would appear to not be a worry for all but a teeny tiny percentage of people with celiac. Even the most sensitive tests have not been able to detect gluten in blue cheese. If you haven't tried blue cheese since diagnosis, the odds are EXTREMELY high that you can eat it without trouble.

richard

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...