Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Curry Powder


lauradawn

Recommended Posts

lauradawn Explorer

I LOVE curry, but I have read several times that curry powders are a cause for concern. I use Mccormick's red curry powder. I called the company, and they said that there is no worries about gluten in their seasonings. It is gluten-free! HOwever, one of the sites that I found says specifically that Mccormicks curry powder is NOT gluten-free! Im so confused. Does anyone know?????

If you like curry and know of a curry that is safe....I have a great recipe..! :rolleyes:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



seeking-wholeness Explorer

Laura,

I have had no problems using The Spice Hunter brand East Indian Hot Curry powder. If there were even traces of gluten in it, my breastfeeding baby's eczema would flare up and start spreading, but it hasn't after any time I have made curried dishes. I also REALLY love the flavor (and it doesn't have any fenugreek, which I just plain can't stand)! I buy it at my local Whole Foods Market, but regular grocery stores in my area don't seem to carry it. I hope you can find some, and that you enjoy it as much as I do!

GFdoc Apprentice

I called Spice Islands brand - they said that their curry powder was gluten-free.

800-247-5251

  • 4 years later...
ztu Newbie

FYI I contacted Frontier Coop regarding their curry powder; they responded:

Good Morning,

Thank you for your inquiry. Frontier is not an allergen free facility, thus

we do not state that any of our products are allergen free. We follow

strict GMPs (Good Manufacturing Practices) to minimize the potential for

cross-contamination, but do not test for the presence of allergens in our

final products.

Gluten is present in our facility, so we are not able to state positively

that our products are gluten-free. We do have full ingredient disclosure on

our products.

If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask. Have a

great day!

Brittany Miller

Customer Care

Frontier Natural Products Co-op

I'm playing it safe, so I'll skip this one and maybe try one of the ones mentioned above...

anyone know of other brands of gluten-free curry powder?

lovegrov Collaborator

McCormick clearly lists gluten if it's present. They are a very dependable company. They are not lying to you.

In addition, I think the warning about curry powder is that it might have wheat mixed in. If it does, in the U.S. the wheat must be listed. To be honest, I can't remember ever finding a curry powder with gluten.

richard

lovegrov Collaborator

"I'm playing it safe, so I'll skip this one and maybe try one of the ones mentioned above..."

Frontier is merely doing full disclosure. NO facility that has gluten inside can absolutely guarantee gluten-free.

richard

dilettantesteph Collaborator

Curry powder usually contains turmeric and turmeric can cause false positive results with what I think is the most commonly used test for gluten. I ran a test with it. It turns the whole solution a dark red, and the color of the positive indicator is around that same color. That might be why that one site said it contains gluten.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,759
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Audrey56
    Newest Member
    Audrey56
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...