Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Omg I Just Had Vinegar In My Chicken Salad Im Itching


Flasaltwater

Recommended Posts

Flasaltwater Apprentice

OMG I am itching all over. I was looking back at everything I ate today googled the ingrediants with the word gluten in it and omg Viniger is Taboo. Really?? I had Chicken saled that has viniger in it. I am beltching, indijestion and itching all over and snapping at coworkes. I'm miserable can someone offer some advice for relief.

Uggggg


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

With the specific exception of malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as that, "malt vinegar," vinegar is gluten-free.

Flasaltwater Apprentice

With the specific exception of malt vinegar, which will always be labeled as that, "malt vinegar," vinegar is gluten-free.

Ok good don't know what kind but it just says Vinegar on label. I looked up the other ingredients didn't see anything that looked suspicious but I'm new to this so I have no idea what I'm doing anyway all I know is all Ive had today is a Gluten Free Bagel with Chicken salad bought out of the Deli at out Publix grocery store. Then I had 1 Gluten free Cookie and a Banana. I've been starting to feel pretty good up until this afternoon.

Jestgar Rising Star

The deli doesn't add bread crumbs to the chicken salad? The one near my house does....

love2travel Mentor

Though I have read that vinegars are fine except malt vinegars, some rice wine vinegar contains gluten (I have seen a few brands in a specialty ethnic store in Canada that actually had "wheat" on the label). Most are fine, though, but still wise to check.

psawyer Proficient

In the US, the single word "vinegar" listed as an ingredient is apple cider vinegar. It is likely distilled, but even if it isn't, apples are gluten-free.

weluvgators Explorer

In the US, the single word "vinegar" listed as an ingredient is apple cider vinegar. It is likely distilled, but even if it isn't, apples are gluten-free.

Where did you find information that "vinegar" in the US is apple cider vinegar? I looked up Hellmann's mayonnaise, and it lists "vinegar" in the ingredients. The Best Foods website says, "The vinegar in Hellmann


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Takala Enthusiast

Was this chicken salad specifically labeled gluten free ? Because who knows what was really in it. They could have marinated the chicken meat before cooking it, etc. And what about the work surfaces the bagel was exposed to, etc, in terms of cross contamination.

Flasaltwater Apprentice

Was this chicken salad specifically labeled gluten free ? Because who knows what was really in it. They could have marinated the chicken meat before cooking it, etc. And what about the work surfaces the bagel was exposed to, etc, in terms of cross contamination.

No it was not labeled gluten-free It was a mixed Chicken salad out of the deli it was in a little plastic container labeled Chunky white chicken breast with herbal dressing. There was also an ingredient label. I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

This is weird I feel better this morning. I actually had to take one of my husband Hydroxyzine's and knock myself out. I was itching so bad.. I still have D so I couldn't go by that since I had only been gluten-free for 5 days another thing strange that happened that I noticed was my lips were tingling when I was eating. I swear I'm falling apart.

Jestgar Rising Star

I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

Did you put it in a toaster bag, or on foil, or use some other method to make sure it wasn't touching the metal racks that all the other toast touches?

ravenwoodglass Mentor

No it was not labeled gluten-free It was a mixed Chicken salad out of the deli it was in a little plastic container labeled Chunky white chicken breast with herbal dressing. There was also an ingredient label. I toasted my gluten-free bagel in our toaster at work. I wasn't around any other bread or anything at the time.

This is weird I feel better this morning. I actually had to take one of my husband Hydroxyzine's and knock myself out. I was itching so bad.. I still have D so I couldn't go by that since I had only been gluten-free for 5 days another thing strange that happened that I noticed was my lips were tingling when I was eating. I swear I'm falling apart.

You can't use the same toaster for gluten free bread that others are using for gluten bread. You need a dedicated toaster.

If the deli uses any gluten containing ingredients in anything else there is a high chance of CC in it. Better to make your own at home than buy store made.

Flasaltwater Apprentice

"Did you put it in a toaster bag, or on foil, or use some other method to make sure it wasn't touching the metal racks that all the other toast touches?"

Whats a toaster bag? No I did not use foil I stuck it in our toaster/oven to be toasted. It has to touch the metal to sit down in there.

What have I done??

You can't use the same toaster for gluten free bread that others are using for gluten bread. You need a dedicated toaster.

If the deli uses any gluten containing ingredients in anything else there is a high chance of CC in it. Better to make your own at home than buy store made.

OK I messed up. I guess I better get my own toaster oven for work. I'm sure the boss wont care he is very nice and has his own issues.

I can make my own no problem. I guess I thought if I didn't see the word wheat or Gluten I was OK a lot of the ingredients I did not understand so I Googled but still didn't quite understand but because none said wheat or Gluten I still thought I was OK.

Fairy Dancer Contributor

I thought I was ok with some vegetable stir fry as there was no gluten or wheat in the ingredients (only vegetables). However I later found that it was not suitable for those on a wheat or gluten free diet due to the methods used in manufacture. I wondered why I was feeling off after eating it. I was beginning to think it was the mushrooms or something and that I had another food sensitivity...

I think its easier to buy fresh stuff and make your own lol

eatmeat4good Enthusiast

With the itching and lip tingling swelling it sounds like a histamine response more than a gluten reaction to me. You are fairly new in the recovery process so you will have to learn about all the ways of being cross-contaminated and where trace gluten can hide. But sometimes there is something else going on, and as Celiacs, we are prone to secondary intolerances. I spent most of the last year experimenting with what could cause continuing problems as I was stricly gluten free and never ate anything made by anyone but me. Well, recently I discovered that histamine containing foods cause me to have reactions. They would cause the itching you described and also would be relieved by the hydroxyzine. I'm on a low histamine diet in addition to being gluten free. It wasn't nightshades, after all...nor many of the other things I thought it was. Keep searching for your culprit. But I just wanted to pop in here and let you know that Vinegar is a histamine food. I can't have it either...but it is definitely not due to gluten. Check out Histamine foods if you continue to have reactions you can't pin down to gluten or other intolerances. It's made a big difference for me.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...