Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Custom Ordering Pizza At Uno's?


Maltiriel

Recommended Posts

Maltiriel Rookie

Maybe a month ago I had a gluten free pizza at Uno's. While I was there, I asked about customizing the pizzas (like adding toppings) and was told that they make the gluten-free pizzas the night before to avoid cross contamination, so if I wanted to have different toppings I'd have to call a day ahead and they'd make my custom pizza that night so I could have it the next day. Anyway I thought that sounded like a good deal (I REALLY want to try their fig and goat cheese pizza, if the toppings are also gluten-free), so last night I called and tried to order a custom pizza for today. The woman who answered the phone was confused about it and did go off and consult with someone, but when she got back to me she said I couldn't order that specific pizza. I asked what I could get then (I assumed some of the toppings for that particular pizza must not be gluten-free), and she just recited their standard three gluten-free pizzas.

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody has successfully ordered a custom pizza at Uno's. I think the person I talked with originally was the manager, so I'm wondering if I ought to call back and ask to speak to a manager next time. I don't think there was any way I could have misunderstood... Certainly my entire party of 4 was under the impression that I should be able to do this call ahead thing. If anybody has any experience with this I'd really appreciate the info.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

It's been about a year since I asked since I can no longer have dairy and soy (found out the crusts have soy flour) but I was told their pizzas come pre-made and they just bake either a cheese or pepperoni one. This info may have changed or the person I talked to might not have known either. There's a big risk of cc however if they were to use the same toppings they are using for the regular pizzas on your gluten-free pizza.

pshifrin Apprentice

It's been about a year since I asked since I can no longer have dairy and soy (found out the crusts have soy flour) but I was told their pizzas come pre-made and they just bake either a cheese or pepperoni one. This info may have changed or the person I talked to might not have known either. There's a big risk of cc however if they were to use the same toppings they are using for the regular pizzas on your gluten-free pizza.

The Uno's near me in White Plains, NY lets me customize to an extent. To be honest, I only have ever had them add grilled chicken to the top of a regular pizza.

GuyC Newbie

I had gluten-free veggie pizza at Uno's in Union Station (Wash. DC) last week and it was execellent. No issues and a lot tastier than plain cheese.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...