Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bayer Low Dose Aspirin Gluten Free?


richieroman

Recommended Posts

richieroman Newbie

Hi all:

This is my 1st post ever on a social website so please forgive me if I have done anything incorrectly.

I was diagnosed with celiac disease back in 1990 confirmed by a biopsy of my small intestine. I am now 60 years of age, and my regular physician has recommended I start taking a daily low dose aspirin.

I checked the Bayer website, and their low dose aspirin has 4 lines of separate chemical inactive ingredients, while the regular 325 mg aspirin has only a few inactive ingredients. I called Bayer and inquired if their aspirin products were gluten free and was informed that they do not add gluten to their product....however they cannot guarantee their products are gluten free as some of the ingredients may be processed in facilities that also process gluten. Can anyone help in answering whether these products are safe, and if not can any other substitutes be recommended. Thank you in advance.

Richard Romano


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JoshB Apprentice

It's fine. Almost no one uses gluten or even wheat starch as a binder now, so there's nothing to cross contaminate with. Besides if any manufacturing facility is going to have good protocols against cross contamination on a processing line, it's a pharmaceutical plant.

psawyer Proficient

Hi, Richard, and welcome to the board.

The reply you received is very common from mainstream companies. They purchase their ingredients from their suppliers, but don't test them to see if they were contaminated with gluten prior to arriving at their plant. Since they don't test, they "cannot guarantee" anything.

I would use the product without hesitation.

richieroman Newbie

Thank you both Peter and Josh for your fast responses...I will now go ahead and use this product with confidence. Interesting to note Peter that what you said in your post is almost exactly word for word what I was told over the phone by a company representative. Thank you again.

Richard

  • 5 years later...
yourwrong Newbie
On ‎9‎/‎22‎/‎2011 at 3:41 PM, JoshB said:

It's fine. Almost no one uses gluten or even wheat starch as a binder now, so there's nothing to cross contaminate with. Besides if any manufacturing facility is going to have good protocols against cross contamination on a processing line, it's a pharmaceutical plant.

You are wrong. And I am surprised anyone would listen to anything you have to say. Bayer Aspirin.  the products are produced in a facility that may also process gluten, and could be made on the same equipment as gluten-containing products. So if you have celiacs you will get sick.

kareng Grand Master
28 minutes ago, yourwrong said:

You are wrong. And I am surprised anyone would listen to anything you have to say. Bayer Aspirin.  the products are produced in a facility that may also process gluten, and could be made on the same equipment as gluten-containing products. So if you have celiacs you will get sick.

You are responding, rather rudely, to someone from 2011.  In 6 years products may have changed.  However, the poster is correct  that wheat starch is seldom used.  If a person is worried about a medication they can call the company and inquire.  You do not seem to have any actual info from Bayer to share.  This appears to be your own assumptions.

Even if the factory were to make a different medication on the same machinery, they would be thoroughly cleaned between runs.  Especially something as sensitive  as medication.  They can not run the risk that a different medication is present in the aspirin.  

 

Edit - just checked the website for Bayer Aspirin - they list corn starch for most products.  No other starches listed

  • 3 months later...
Hinks12369 Newbie
On 9/22/2011 at 0:19 PM, richieroman said:

Hi all:

 

This is my 1st post ever on a social website so please forgive me if I have done anything incorrectly.

 

I was diagnosed with celiac disease back in 1990 confirmed by a biopsy of my small intestine. I am now 60 years of age, and my regular physician has recommended I start taking a daily low dose aspirin.

 

I checked the Bayer website, and their low dose aspirin has 4 lines of separate chemical inactive ingredients, while the regular 325 mg aspirin has only a few inactive ingredients. I called Bayer and inquired if their aspirin products were gluten free and was informed that they do not add gluten to their product....however they cannot guarantee their products are gluten free as some of the ingredients may be processed in facilities that also process gluten. Can anyone help in answering whether these products are safe, and if not can any other substitutes be recommended. Thank you in advance.

 

Richard Romano

I found out the hard way Bayer aspirin made me sick!  Walgreens has gulten free aspirin low dose to!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 2 weeks later...
Gemini Experienced

I am really surprised that any doctor would recommend low dose aspirin to anyone with Celiac.  Aspirin is hard on the gut and can cause ulcers and bleeding...even low dose ones. I know people this has happened to and they don't have Celiac.  Personally, I find that drinking a glass of red wine with dinner does the trick as it is a blood thinner also. But you have to drink it with a meal!  ;)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,794
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MarciO
    Newest Member
    MarciO
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...