Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Coca-Cola


AmandaD

Recommended Posts

AmandaD Community Regular

Just checking to see if you Celiacs sometimes drink coke too? It's my understanding that it is on their list of gluten free items...

Thanks much - Amanda


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Yeah. Its gluten-free! Some people are bothered by the High fructose corn syrup but that's not a gluten issue.

AmandaD Community Regular

thank god. because it's all i've got at work and i'm about to suck it down!

Yeah. Its gluten-free! Some people are bothered by the High fructose corn syrup but that's not a gluten issue.

kareng Grand Master

thank god. because it's all i've got at work and i'm about to suck it down!

Enjoy. I think all regular sodas are gluten-free. Haven't found one that isn't in the US.

Fairy Dancer Contributor

I used to but corn products upset me and I hate drinking aspartame so won't opt for diet versions. I drink mostly black coffee, mineral water, water with lemon or lime juice (freshly squeezed), occasionally fruit juice and more frequently fruit smoothies (they have more fibre than juice alone).

I used to drink milky coffee but I am trying to cut down on my dairy. My stomach will take moderate amounts but does not like an excess of it. When I do use milk (as a treat I have a latte once in a while) I have also switched to goats milk as its a bit nicer than cows milk.

Katrala Contributor

I practically live on Diet Mtn Dew and Water

eatmeat4good Enthusiast

Coca Cola is gluten free and it is the only soda I have found without benzoates! :unsure: So give yourself a bonus point for that and drink up! ;)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lcarter Contributor

There must be something in colas [coke and Pepsi in particul] that bothers me. But, what it is, I haven;t a clue, I am the only person I know of who has this reaction. It causes muscles in my throat to spasum with a first sip. No, it is not a burp. It's more like my throat squeezes shut as a reaction. I suppose it could be the fructose, since I am fructose intolerant, but other sodas do not do this to me , only colas. Anyone else ever heard of this?

love2travel Mentor

My doctor and chiro told me to stop ingesting anything including aspartame (in "diet" products) as it apparently can exacerbate joint pain if it is pre-existing. I detest aspartame flavour, anyway, so it has been easy for me to avoid.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...