Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Chinese Food?


Emily T

Recommended Posts

Emily T Rookie

So I ordered Chinese tonight. Second day of no gluten. I ordered the rice noodles with curry and shrimp. My usual order involves egg drop soup doused in soy sauce. I opted out of the soup since they were unable to tell me if it had gluten in it. I know corn starch is a big ingredient used there, but still decided to forgo it. I didn't use any of the soy sauce even though it didn't mention anything gluten related, but it did say caramel coloring, which I thought I heard had gluten in it. Is anyone able to clarify this for me? Thanks in advance!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Caramel color is gluten-free. Soy sauce usually (but not always) contains wheat. Corn starch is gluten-free.

Day two gluten-free? You are still healing. Reactions to gluten can be delayed, even once you are fully healed. Until your intestines heal, you may have reactions to any food, even though it is gluten-free.

desert rose Newbie

My husband and I are moving to Adelaide very soon. Can anyone recommend a gluten free chinese restuarant?

GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

My husband and I are moving to Adelaide very soon. Can anyone recommend a gluten free chinese restuarant?

I don't know where Adelaide is but PF Changs is a national chain that has a gluten-free menu. I use glutenfreeregistry.com for finding restaurants.

desert rose Newbie

I don't know where Adelaide is but PF Changs is a national chain that has a gluten-free menu. I use glutenfreeregistry.com for finding restaurants.

Thanks GlutenFreeManna. I'll give that website a try. Adelaide is the capital of South Australia, Australia.

GlutenFreeManna Rising Star

Thanks GlutenFreeManna. I'll give that website a try. Adelaide is the capital of South Australia, Australia.

Oh, well then that website may not help--I think it's mainly the US and Canada. Sorry. I know we have several people from Australia here so hopefully they will be able to help. Probably a good idea to make your own post however since the OP's post is just about Chinese restaurants in general. If you put Adelaide, Australia in the title of a new post you're more likely to get a good answer.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...