Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Is There Gluten In Yeast?


Claire

Recommended Posts

Claire Collaborator

All gluten free breads and rolls list yeast as an ingredient - label usually specifies 'fresh yeast'. Isn't yeast derived from grains? Wouldn't that be a problem. Innernet searches non productive on this issue - so far.

If anyone has had a definitive answer to this question please respond. Thanks.

I am new here so probably will get some part of this posting process wrong. Claire


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mstrain Rookie

Yeast is a unicellular fungus. We associate it with grains because it is their byproduct of carbon dioxide that allows breads to rise. It does not contain gluten.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Plain yeast is fine...no gluten :D

Claire Collaborator

Many thanks for the replies regarding yeast. I have researched celiac and related problems for quite a long time but this stumped me. My first post here and I have an answer in less than 24 hours. Not at all shabby!

GlutenFreeGirlie Rookie

Hi! If you want an active dry yeast or nutritional yeast that are produced gluten-free, I use bob's red mill yeast. They sell it in my local grocery stores and it is safe!

JLK Rookie

Gotta say I am still confused about this yeast question. So I did some internet research and I am currently reading The Gluten Free Bible by Jax Peters Lowell and I'll quote first from the gluten-free Bible: "But an accident is just that and they happen to all of us. Many years ago, before I had the hang of the diet and knew better, I decided it would be healthy for me to add brewer's yeast to my morning tonic. I know what you're thinking. Jax! We all make honest mistakes in the beginning. There's no shame in it. At first I felt fine, then I noticed, to put it as gracefully as possible, that bathroom visits were increasing while the rest of me was decreasing at an allarming rate of four pounds in five days. It wasn't long before I realized the morning drink was the culprit. I tell you this not to be indelicate but to illustrate how symptoms of gluten ingestion are different for everyone." p275

One recipe in the book lists dry yeast as an ingredient, so dry is OK. I have seen Torula yeast used in gluten-free products. Baker's yeast is gluten-free according to Open Original Shared Link while yeast extract including Promite, Vegemite and Bonox are not. Brewer's yeast is not gluten-free, leaving nutritional yeast up in the air.

from Open Original Shared Link

"Another concern is the yeast. I fear even the slightest contamination of gluten could harm a Celiac. The ‘smack-pack’ liquid yeast that I have become accustomed to using is out of the question. Well, not exactly. A ‘smack-pack’ yeast starter is a small bag that contains a pure liquid yeast culture, and inside that is an even smaller pouch, which contains a barley based growth medium. When squeezed, or smacked, the inner pouch ruptures into the outer, allowing the yeast to meet the growth medium. The growth medium is the problem here, because it contains gluten. If you cut open the pack without smacking it first, you can pour off the pure yeast culture in the outer pack and grow it into a starter batch using extract from a non-gluten source. A simpler method than this is to use a dry yeast. Several good dry yeasts made specifically for homebrewers are available. Dry yeasts are propagated in a molasses based growth medium, making them ideal for gluten-free beers." Definitely thinking of brewing my own :rolleyes:

Bottom line, stay away from Brewer's yeast, yeast extracts, and for me, "nutritional" yeast is to avoid unless the package also says "Gluten free"!

Judi

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,005
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...