Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Soy, Milk, Corn, Etc. Intolerances


pricklypear1971

Recommended Posts

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Ok, here's a question....

It occurred to me that with the gluten thing it's better for me to have dinner parties at my house... And if I want to be fair I need to accommodate other food intolerances.

So, for those of you who know....are other intolerances as tough to work around as gluten? Would a milk, egg, soy, etc. intolerant person be able to eat food I cook (if I leave it out) or are there cc issues like for gluten?

Allergies are another story, I'd assume an allergy is more difficult than intolerance (if I used soy flour I'd assume a person with soy allergies wouldn't want to be in my house).


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



missmellie Newbie

To begin, I don't happen to know of a soy intolerance group, or a dairy intolerance group, etc., so perhaps my opinion is from a narrow viewpoint, since I read and participate in this gluten intolerance forum.

I do agree with your outlook that it might be easier (and it's certainly safer) to host a dinner party than to attend one someplace else. I do the same kind of thing with my family. So far, I'm the only one who is gluten-free, with meals or household environment.

The other items you mentioned (eggs, dairy, soy) I must avoid in addition to the gluten. I don't happen to know if a person needs to thoroughly scrub down to remove traces of these things from their kitchens. I haven't heard of it, but I suppose it's possible. I found out about all of my intolerances at about the same time, so probably the clearing out that I did for gluten most likely cleared out traces of those other things as well. There wasn't much left in my kitchen when I finished the purge!!! I don't think CC would be as much of a problem with the other things, mainly because they aren't usually finely ground, powdery, invasive, or glue-y (sticky), like gluten. They can cause discomfort when ingested, but I don't know of them causing actual physical damage to the body, like the gluten does (but I could be wrong about that).

As far as you cooking to avoid all of the above mentioned items, I find soy is at least as hard to avoid as gluten. The blasted stuff is in everything, and items that don't have gluten often have soy, and visa versa. If you find something that doesn't have gluten or soy, then it probably contains dairy, or egg. It's really difficult, unless you cook entirely from "scratch", as I almost always do.

There are decent substitutes for wheat flour, if one is willing to look a little and to cook from scratch. There are numerous substitutes for dairy. Substitutes for egg are not very good, in my humble opinion (they surely do not add egg taste and they aren't very good at adding egg texture, either). Very few scratch recipes call for soy (thank goodness!!).

This is probably more than you asked for. Enjoy being a hostess!! I would love to cook with you and trade dinner parties. :)

bartfull Rising Star

I don't know about anyone else, but I am so sensitive to corn that even one of those new plastic bottles that is made with a corn based plastic got me. And corn is even harder to avoid than gluten, for two reasons. First, it is cheap, so companies seem to add it to everything. And second, corn does not have to be listed in the ingredients the way wheat does here in the US.

But that being said, I'd be willing to bet that anyone who is that sensitive will bring their own food anyway. And since you are celiac, you would understand because you have had to do the same, I'm sure.

Hope you have a great time. Oh yeah, and you forgot to tell us when and where so we can all come! :lol:

cahill Collaborator

I am super sensitive to soy .Soy CC is a major issue for me.

I have reacted to soy free (and gluten free) products that were processed at a facility that process soy (but not gluten) so I am sure the CC came from soy not gluten.

I react to EVERYTHING with soy or soy oil in or even near it :ph34r:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,008
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kateobrien1313
    Newest Member
    Kateobrien1313
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...