Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New And Need Help


Cait233

Recommended Posts

Cait233 Newbie

I am 23 years old and was diagnosed with Celiacs disease a little over a month ago. I was feeling so awful before I was on it and now I am feeling better. I am having trouble with finding snacks and little things I can eat throughout that day. I am finding the whole thing kinda difficult and could use any advice anyone has to offer.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



AVR1962 Collaborator

Do you like fruit, veggies, chips?

Cait233 Newbie

Yes I do like them

Cait233 Newbie

Yes I do like fruit and veggies and veggie chips

mamaw Community Regular

Glad to hear you feel better. snacks can be anything.. Glutino and Snyder's both have excellent gluten-free pretzels.Michael Season's has cheese curls that are yummy. Doritios are clearly labeled, & so is lay's & Herr's...Nuts, fruits, &veggies make for wholesome snacking.

Other snacks are gluten-free protein bars, jerky,peanut butter or sunbutter & crackers..cheese cubes...Celery & cream cheese or nutbutter. Raisins, dates,,,, salsa &corn chips....

hth

GFreeMO Proficient

If you are ok with corn, popcorn makes a great snack. Apples sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar are great. Lately, I have been making and eating a lot of crustless pumpkin pies. They are really good and easy.

juul Newbie

I am 23 years old and was diagnosed with Celiacs disease a little over a month ago. I was feeling so awful before I was on it and now I am feeling better. I am having trouble with finding snacks and little things I can eat throughout that day. I am finding the whole thing kinda difficult and could use any advice anyone has to offer.

a llot of the frito lay products are gluten free so for snacks i would check them. if you go online to the website of the company, sometimes it will say gluten free or you can write to the company. learning how to read labels is your best bet check this page, print it out and bring it to the supermarket with you and be ready to read read read forever! after awhile you will just remember a lot of ingredients, too. dont worry, you will be fine over time.

https://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Safe-Ingredients/Page1.html

a lot of things on facebook, too as far as companies.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 3 months later...
ncallier Newbie

I am new, too, and having a hard time keeping all the gluten out of my diet even though I am being careful and am not cheating.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,876
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Calsmom
    Newest Member
    Calsmom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...