Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Eat 'n Park In Pittsburgh


Monklady123

Recommended Posts

Monklady123 Collaborator

I'm visiting my parents and my mom, dd and I went out to lunch at Eat 'n Park because I had heard they were aware of gluten. Sure enough, on the back of their menu they have a whole page of allergy info, including a list of what is gluten free on the menu. They also have gluten free sandwich buns, although I didn't have one.

So on the menu were their burgers which came with one side, and they listed the particular sides that were gluten free. One was their homemade potato chips (more like potato slices, but fried). However right above the food list it said "our fried foods are not gluten free because the fryers are used for bread products" or something like that.

So I asked the server about it and she said "hmm..." and went to ask the manager. Sure enough, there is no dedicated fryer for the homemade chips, that was a mistake on the menu. :o Personally I'm sure that most of us would have asked anyway (since I don't really trust anyone, and the only reason I went out was because my mom really wanted to, and she can't get out much on her own anymore). But what concerned me was whether or not I could trust the rest of the gluten free menu, especially the part that said "all of our salad dressings are gluten free". I asked if I could see the ingredients of the Italian dressing and at first the server balked, saying "oh, they're okay, it says so right there" [on the menu]. Then she realized how silly that sounded after we'd just determined that there was a mistake about the chips. lol..

She went away, and the manager came back to chat and to tell me the ingredients in the salad dressings. Which are indeed gluten free. :) So I had a very nice garden salad, and a bacon cheeseburger (no gluten free bun because I knew I'd be disappointed) with lettuce and tomato. It was all very yummy and that was five hours ago and I'm still feeling 100% so we will see.

Just thought I'd pass on that experience. Great that they have an entire section called "for our celiac customers". But not so great that they made a mistake about the chips. I'm planning to email the company about it since the menu comes from headquarters not from that particular Eat 'n Park. I'll also mention how helpful the manager was since I don't want her to get in any trouble.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Eat'n Park Newbie

So on the menu were their burgers which came with one side, and they listed the particular sides that were gluten free. One was their homemade potato chips (more like potato slices, but fried). However right above the food list it said "our fried foods are not gluten free because the fryers are used for bread products" or something like that.

So I asked the server about it and she said "hmm..." and went to ask the manager. Sure enough, there is no dedicated fryer for the homemade chips, that was a mistake on the menu.

Thanks for sharing your feedback - we very much appreciate you bringing this to our attention! We do our best to provide an ample selection of gluten-free menu items for our guests, and we sincerely regret the error we made by listing our fresh potato chips as a gluten-free item. This item will be removed from the gluten-free section with our next menu reprint, so the error will be corrected by February 6.

On the flip side, we're glad to hear that our manager was able to confirm that the chips were not gluten free before you ordered them. All of our managers complete an allergen training program so that they're able help when a guest has questions about the menu.

Lastly, you mentioned that you didn't try the gluten-free bun. Next time you're in, I'd encourage you to give it a try - we've received great feedback from other guests, saying that the texture and consistency are much better than other gluten-free breads they've tried.

In any case, if you have any other feedback that you'd like to share with us, please don't hesitate to do so.

Sincerely,

Erin Stoughton

Eat'n Park

  • 2 weeks later...
Monklady123 Collaborator

Lol! How about that, a reply from Eat 'n Park themselves! :)

Well in fact, I'm back in Pittsburgh right now so maybe my mom and I will go to eat there tomorrow. It was the Eat 'n Park down at the Waterfront in Homestead. I just might try that bun, although even before celiac I often didn't eat the whole bun because it was just too big. hmm... maybe I'll order my burger with the bun on the side and then bring it home. I can try it the next morning for my breakfast toast. :)

Well...glad to hear the menu will be reprinted. I'm probably better off without those chips anyway...my salad was excellent and I'm sure it was much healthier than chips. B)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...