Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Strawberry Muffins


Jamie-44

Recommended Posts

Jamie-44 Newbie

Mmmmm!! These are SO good. I adapted a recpie from Recipe-Zaar

2 cups gluten-free flour (2/3 cup potato starch, 2/3 cup rice flour, 2/3 cup potato flour)

2 tbsp baking powder

1 cup sugar (2/3 cup tastes great!)

2 cups chopped strawberries

2 eggs (or egg substitute?)

2/3-1 cup applesauce

1/2 cup milk substitute (Rice Dream works great for me!)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

I added in:

4 Tablespoons of Rice Protein Powder for the added protein boost.

It makes 12 muffins.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jenvan Collaborator

sounds good...and lookin' low fat! i may try these tonight, and put a few blueberries in too. thnx for sharing!

burdee Enthusiast

Hi Jamie:

Rice Dream uses barley to process their Rice Dream milk. That's printed in tiny letters on the carton. Try another brand of rice milk, like Pacific or Lundberg. ;)

BURDEE

jenvan Collaborator

i used to have a list of what rice dream products were gluten-free...wonder if i can find it here...

jenvan Collaborator

here is rice dream's quote: Is Rice Dream Beverage a gluten free product?

No. Rice Dream Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme. Even though the barley enzyme is discarded after use, the final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein. For a list of gluten free products click here.

i have always used either pacific, wild oats or whole foods brands b/c of this. i also got an e-mail from full circle this week saying their rice milk is gluten-free too.

here is the rice dream gluten-free list:

The following products are gluten free:

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Beverages

All varieties

Imagine Natural Organic Soups and Broths

All varieties except Organic Creamy Chicken

Power Dream Soy Energy Drinks

All varieties: Vanilla Blast, X-Treme Chocolate, Java Jolt, Sky High Chai, Mango Passion

Rice Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts

Updated 6/12/02

The following varieties only:

Carob(Plain)-Pint, and Vanilla-Pints and Quarts

Cappuccino, Carob Almond, Cocoa Marble Fudge, Orange Vanilla Swirl, Strawberry, Neapolitan, Pralines n Dream

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts

The following varieties only:

Pints & Quarts - all flavors except Chocolate Fudge Brownie Pint

Imagine Natural Puddings

All varieties

Bette Explorer
here is rice dream's quote:  Is Rice Dream Beverage a gluten free product?

No. Rice Dream Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme. Even though the barley enzyme is discarded after use, the final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein. For a list of gluten free products click here.

i have always used either pacific, wild oats or whole foods brands b/c of this.  i also got an e-mail from full circle this week saying their rice milk is gluten-free too.

here is the rice dream gluten-free list:

The following products are gluten free:

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Beverages

All varieties

Imagine Natural Organic Soups and Broths

All varieties except Organic Creamy Chicken

Power Dream Soy Energy Drinks

All varieties: Vanilla Blast, X-Treme Chocolate, Java Jolt, Sky High Chai, Mango Passion

Rice Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts

Updated 6/12/02

The following varieties only:

Carob(Plain)-Pint, and Vanilla-Pints and Quarts

Cappuccino, Carob Almond, Cocoa Marble Fudge, Orange Vanilla Swirl, Strawberry, Neapolitan, Pralines n Dream

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts

The following varieties only:

Pints & Quarts - all flavors except Chocolate Fudge Brownie Pint

Imagine Natural Puddings

All varieties

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

OMG, I have been using the Rice dream this whole time (all summer) since me and my daughter have gone gluten-free. Luckily in my daughters case she doesn't like it so she uses blue diamond almond vanilla drink.

Just when you think you are getting a hang of reading the labels. It does not list anything about the barley under the ingredients. But Jenvan you are right, I went back and looked at the package and sure enough, in small letters, it is on the back side of the package. :angry:

I sure hope the new labeling laws will help to clarify this crap?? Why can't it clearly be marked as having barley in it?

jenvan Collaborator

Bette-

I know...it can be so complicated!! And we all get surprises. Good thing you know now. Here are several gluten-free rice milks I've tried and liked: Wild Oats, Pacific, Full Circle, Whole Foods. They are all pretty good...my one compliant is that Pacific's has a bit of a mayo taste to me...but it is doable if its all that's available. I haven't tried Lundberg, but burdee mentioned that one too.

I didn't get those muffins made...but this week is the week. I am going on vacation next week, so I can freeze and take some along then.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Bette Explorer

Jen thanks for enlightning me ;) I think for now I will just stick to the almond drinks, in all honesty I did not favor the chalky like taste of the rice dream, but I thought they all tasted that way,anyways good luck with the strawberry muffin recipe and have fun on your travels.

Jamie thanks for posting the recipe, they sound yummy, I will try it. Since we can't use Rice dream (and I do not tolerate soy) I think I will try the almond milk for the subsitute. :P

Jamie-44 Newbie

I don't tolerate soy either. I am not actually a Celiac. I am just intolerant to gluten, so it's not a problem for me to use Rice Dream after all.

Sorry for claiming it to be gluten free though! Hopefully it works with a different kind of rice milk!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,006
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...