Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Sake


glutengirl42

Recommended Posts

glutengirl42 Rookie

Hello Everyone,

I recently have been on the hunt for gluten free sake. I'm aware that sake is made from rice, however many often add barley at the end of the fermintation process to add flavor. I came across this site, which states which sakes have been found to be gluten free (I know they exist) Open Original Shared Link - When searching "Gekkeikan Sake" so many came up on this site and they all look like they are made from different companies Open Original Shared Link

The person who posted the information about the gluten free sake also said that any sakes that say Junmai are gluten free because they are "pure with no additional ingredients added". Is this true for all of them????? Help!

I would appreciate some insight on the matter and if anyone has a specific name or website I would appreciate it if you could message it to me.

Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

Sake - fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

...this is all I got! B)

  • 2 months later...
glutengirl42 Rookie

I discovered a Gluten Free Sake that is amazing. The name of the company is TY.KU - They make 4 different types of sake, all gluten free, contain no sulfites or tannens. They also make a citrus liquor and a soju (these are not gluten free). All their liquors contain no sugar; they all are made with real fruit juices and have half the calories of other liquors. All their sakes are top notch and should be served chilled. 76% of sake, specifically sake served hotis considered Futsu (very low grade).

glutengirl42 Rookie
Open Original Shared Link
  • 10 months later...
Koffeefreak Newbie

GlutenGirl, Did you have success with the Gekkeikan??

I picked up a bottle today and was really looking forward to it, but decided last minute to check to make sure.. (not checking first has bitten me in the bum before!)

kenlove Rising Star

I've never had any problem with junmai, ginjo or daiginjo but these are types of sake in Japan. i can't be sure about  other made in the US brands like Gekkeikan, Shochikubai, momokawa and a few others. 

 

Also namazake   and nigori sake types should be ok..  

 

I can't remember in my 9 years of being celiac and maybe 30 trips to Japan that time, of having problems from  sake and i'm pretty sensitive and cant  have things with the disclaimer  made in a factory  that has wheat etc etc.

 

good luck

 

 

 

Hello Everyone,

I recently have been on the hunt for gluten free sake. I'm aware that sake is made from rice, however many often add barley at the end of the fermintation process to add flavor. I came across this site, which states which sakes have been found to be gluten free (I know they exist) Open Original Shared Link - When searching "Gekkeikan Sake" so many came up on this site and they all look like they are made from different companies Open Original Shared Link

The person who posted the information about the gluten free sake also said that any sakes that say Junmai” are gluten free because they are "pure with no additional ingredients added". Is this true for all of them????? Help!

I would appreciate some insight on the matter and if anyone has a specific name or website I would appreciate it if you could message it to me.

Thanks!

  • 2 years later...
ryansmith Newbie

I recently found a great website that talks about gluten-free Sake in details. 

 

Open Original Shared Link

 

They say premium Sake is 100% gluten-free whereas non-premium cheap Sake is not necessarily.

Just check the bottle label, and if it says one of the following premium types the Sake is gluten-free.

And they have an infographic which helps me easily understand about Sake.

 

Daiginjo, Junmai Daiginjo, Ginjo, Junmai Ginjo, Junmai, Tokubetsu Junmai, Honjozo and Tokubetsu Honjozo

 

I'm in Australia, so not sure about the American Sake brands, but I have never had any problems with Go-shu. they offer premium types. Hope it helps:)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ryansmith Newbie

https://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

Sake - fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

...this is all I got! cool.gif

 

I just made a post, but according to Open Original Shared Link, Koji enzymes are not grown on Miso. Miso is made from Koji enzymes which are grown on either rice, barley or soybeans. So Koji is just one of the ingredients of Miso which is the final product.. 

Koji used for Sake is legally required to be rice Koji. So no barley or soy is used for Sake in the first place!

Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...