Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Warning! Quinoa Contamination With Barley


squirmingitch

Recommended Posts

squirmingitch Veteran

It seems that the Kosher community has discovered some Quinoa is being dried covered by barley &/or oats.

Read these 2 links for info.

Open Original Shared Link

On this link, scroll down to hwere you see the article post on Feb. 23,2012

Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



T.H. Community Regular

I just came across that, too.

Sigh...stuff is everywhere, argh.

Cathey Apprentice

Thank you for that report. I just threw out my Quinoa it wasn't on the list of safe ones. Thanks again.

tom Contributor

Thank you for that report. I just threw out my Quinoa ....

You shouldn't have.

Even if someone apparently traveled to Peru & reported that they saw possible ways for cc in the field, quinoa seeds have husks. The edible part doesn't touch anything but the inside of the husk.

An article about potential hypothetical cc shouldn't set off a panic.

I'm also kinda skeptical about Peruvian farmers of the "ancient grain" changing how they do it a couple yrs ago.

Lisa Mentor

An article about potential hypothetical cc shouldn't set off a panic.

Agreed! ;)

Skylark Collaborator

By the time the quinoa is hulled and the saponin is rinsed off any barley dust would be long gone.

You have to understand when you read this article that the prohibition against eating or even possessing chametz during Passover is absolute. This is from an Orthodox rabbinical council and they are looking for grains that meet certain religious standards. The idea of chametz grains might be used to keep birds off quinoa, even if the finished product is gluten-free by R5 ELISA, is probably enough for them to issue the prohibition.

If you're really worried, the Bob's Red Mill organic quinoa is really nice and it's gluten-free. I am particularly fond of the Bob's quinoa because it's rinsed well enough that it doesn't take any special care to cook.

FernW Rookie

I think I will just stay away from Quinoa for a while, especially for passover. Don't want to get sick and ruin my passover.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

You have to understand when you read this article that the prohibition against eating or even possessing chametz during Passover is absolute. This is from an Orthodox Rabbinical Council and they are looking for grains that meet certain religious standards. The idea of chametz grains used to keep birds off quinoa, even if the finished product is gluten-free by R5 ELISA, is probably enough for them to issue the prohibition.

Interesting Skylark! I learn something every day here - I'm intrigued with the history of religion.

psawyer Proficient

As Skylark said, the dietary rules followed by Orthodox Jews with respect to Passover are inflexible. There must be absolutely no chance of any trace of a prohibited (chametz) grain being in the home during Pesach. Even among Orthodox Rabbis, there is no universal agreement on what the rule means.

I don't think the religious concerns raised by the Chicago Rabbinical Council need worry us. But that is my own opinion. Make your own decision.

Skylark Collaborator

Interesting Skylark! I learn something every day from here - I'm intrigued with the history of religion.

I learned about this from a friend who works at a synagogue. Every Passover the rabbi arranges to buy everyone's chametz (leavened bread from prohibited grains) and sell it to a non-Jew for the length of the holiday. I was fascinated by that one! The only way the five grains (wheat, spelt, rye, barley, oats I think?) can be consumed is as matzoh.

This is why Passover is such a bonanza for celiacs. :) Kosher for Passover food is either made with matzoh meal or is naturally gluten-free. They use potato and arrowroot starch a lot. Back when I first figured out I was celiac, one of the easiest ways to get inexpensive gluten-free mixes and treats was after-Passover sales.

squirmingitch Veteran

So you're saying that the drying of the Quinoa that's going on is BEFORE it's hulled & the saponin is rinsed off? I would not be afraid to eat it if this is the case. Now, if the grain is covered AFTER it is hulled & rinsed then I have a problem with it.

Thank you Skylark for the religious info. I too find different religious practices interesting to learn about.

FernW Rookie

Not all Matzoh is gluten free

Skylark Collaborator

Not all Matzoh is gluten free

Maybe I didn't explain that clearly. If there isn't matzoh meal in the food, it will be gluten-free. Obviously the ones with matzoh meal contain gluten. Here, try this article.

Open Original Shared Link

Cathey Apprentice

You shouldn't have.

Even if someone apparently traveled to Peru & reported that they saw possible ways for cc in the field, quinoa seeds have husks. The edible part doesn't touch anything but the inside of the husk.

An article about potential hypothetical cc shouldn't set off a panic.

I'm also kinda skeptical about Peruvian farmers of the "ancient grain" changing how they do it a couple yrs ago.

That's ok, Tom it was a small amount left and several months old. I usually use the Ancient Harvest Quinoa Pasta's so I'll just look for that brand of Quinoa which is on the safe list.

squirmingitch Veteran

I have 4 boxes of the ancient Harvest sitting here unopened & not of the lot # that is listed as safe in the articles. So I called Ancient Harvest today. When in doubt, go to the source, so I did. Okay, here's what she told me. She read the article that was by the Rabbinical council just like we did. She says Ancient Harvest is NOT affected by any overlay of Barley or Oats or any gluten grain. Their fields are at 7,000 ft. high & none of those other grains will grow that high. She has been to their fields & seen for herself what happens. She assured me that Ancient Harvest is not now nor will it be affected by such things as we read about. She stated that Ancient Harvest is well aware of their use by the celiac & gluten sensitive community & respects & appreciates their standing as a trusted company. Quinoa is the ONLY thing they produce. The Quinoa is processed by them here & not in S.A.. She said the real story is that the farmers in the low elevations (not Ancient Harvest farms) were supposedly covering the Quinoa SEEDS with Barley or Oats to keep the birds from eating the PLANTED Quinoa seeds until the seeds sprout. She stated that Ancient Harvest is presently seeking the Rabbinical council to rectify the statement to reflect the actual happenings. she further assured me that Ancient Harvest Quinoa was completely safe for me to eat & would always remain so.

I'm going to eat my 4 boxes & ENJOY!

Lisa Mentor

Thanks for taking the time to do some research and sharing. :D

I love my Ancient Harvest Quinoa. :P

squirmingitch Veteran

Thanks for taking the time to do some research and sharing. :D

I love my Ancient Harvest Quinoa. :P

Me too! And now I'm sure I can eat it. Yay! Guess what's for breakfast in the morning?biggrin.gif

Skylark Collaborator

Thanks for taking the time to do some research and sharing. :D

Yes, great sleuthing! I suspect the rabbis will stick to their decision but it's good to know the whole story.

modiddly16 Enthusiast

Thank you for teaching me something new about Passover. I love learning new things about religions!

FernW Rookie

Thank you, thank you, thank you Skylark I have been looking for a certain pound cake and other items for passover, so it will be a little late, I have the wine and thats whats important, lol. Yes Passover does make my gluten free life a bit easier for 8 days.

Thanks again. Fern

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,069
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Sashley
    Newest Member
    Sashley
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Scott makes a good point about the prednisone. It has a general suppressing effect on the immune system. Don't misunderstand me. In view of your husband's several autoimmune afflictions, it would seem to be an appropriate medication therapy but it will likely invalidate endoscopy/biopsy test results for celiac disease.
    • Scott Adams
      I also want to mention that using prednisone would likely also make the endoscopy results invalid. This steroid will cause gut healing and could mask the damage caused by celiac disease. 
    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
×
×
  • Create New...