Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Shouldn't Have Had The Mike's Hard Lemonade


birdie22

Recommended Posts

birdie22 Enthusiast

Ok, rookie mistake. Actually no, not rookie mistake, just my willingness to take a chance on something. This is totally not meant to be a debate on the Mike's Hard Lemonade products, nor a claim I was glutened by Mike's. Just my own personal experience that something didn't agree with me after consuming it.

Now, I'll will fully disclose it was a regular (not lite) Mike's Lemonade. I know the lite versions are the only ones tested at gluten-free. But, after reading lots of other info I made the decision to drink a regular version (cause that's what we had on hand) with the thought that the production process/distillation is/was the same as that for the lite products (so if lite is gluten-free and made the same way with same ingredients as the regular than the regular is gluten-free too).

Well all was fine when I drank one last night with food. It tasted GREAT (haven't had one since last summer, long before going gluten-free) and I had no immediate negative reaction. I woke up this morning (~8hrs later) with a yucky feeling belly. I wasn't bloated or distended (which is my usual glutening symptom) just uncomfortable. Then I had several brief occasions of pain like I was being scraped inside by jagged glass. Yes! That feeling many of you have written about but I could never recall feeling. Well, now I know what you are all talking about (unfortunately). This was followed by 2 BMs, the 2nd being many small thin pieces (sorry TMI). I feel ok otherwise (no migraine or fog or heartburn) and think the rest will pass quickly.

So, now I'm banging my head on the table for making such a stupid decision. Again, I'm not going to say I was glutened by Mike's, just that it didn't agree with me. It's too bad, because that's such a fun drink on a warm night.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lesliev523 Rookie

Ok, rookie mistake. Actually no, not rookie mistake, just my willingness to take a chance on something. This is totally not meant to be a debate on the Mike's Hard Lemonade products, nor a claim I was glutened by Mike's. Just my own personal experience that something didn't agree with me after consuming it.

Now, I'll will fully disclose it was a regular (not lite) Mike's Lemonade. I know the lite versions are the only ones tested at gluten-free. But, after reading lots of other info I made the decision to drink a regular version (cause that's what we had on hand) with the thought that the production process/distillation is/was the same as that for the lite products (so if lite is gluten-free and made the same way with same ingredients as the regular than the regular is gluten-free too).

Well all was fine when I drank one last night with food. It tasted GREAT (haven't had one since last summer, long before going gluten-free) and I had no immediate negative reaction. I woke up this morning (~8hrs later) with a yucky feeling belly. I wasn't bloated or distended (which is my usual glutening symptom) just uncomfortable. Then I had several brief occasions of pain like I was being scraped inside by jagged glass. Yes! That feeling many of you have written about but I could never recall feeling. Well, now I know what you are all talking about (unfortunately). This was followed by 2 BMs, the 2nd being many small thin pieces (sorry TMI). I feel ok otherwise (no migraine or fog or heartburn) and think the rest will pass quickly.

So, now I'm banging my head on the table for making such a stupid decision. Again, I'm not going to say I was glutened by Mike's, just that it didn't agree with me. It's too bad, because that's such a fun drink on a warm night.

Aren't they considered "malt beverages"? I thought all malt beverages were NOT gluten free.... even the light ones....

Jestgar Rising Star

Aren't they considered "malt beverages"? I thought all malt beverages were NOT gluten free.... even the light ones....

This was going to be my comment.

birdie22 Enthusiast

Yes they are. However Mikes has done Elisa testing on the lites and they test at less than 5ppm. They have info on their FAQ page. They have staff with celiac involved in the testing.

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

I didn't know that about Mike's. I loved those things - but just the first one. They always give (gave) me a headache. I think it's something else - not gluten, because I could drink a beer without a headache before gluten-free.

Now I'm sure it would be gluten :).

Make your own lemonade and spike it. Yum yum!

sandsurfgirl Collaborator

This stuff that contains gluten grains but supposedly is gluten free is being pushed on us and I don't like it. There are beauty products with hydrolyzed wheat protein that are being labeled gluten free, but I got the leave in conditioner on my hands and then ate and was glutened bad by it.

I avoid wheat, barley and rye like the plague. I don't care what their testing says. It's bad for me and I don't chance it.

deb445 Rookie

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JNBunnie1 Community Regular

I didn't know that about Mike's. I loved those things - but just the first one. They always give (gave) me a headache. I think it's something else - not gluten, because I could drink a beer without a headache before gluten-free.

Now I'm sure it would be gluten :).

Make your own lemonade and spike it. Yum yum!

They're fulla sugar- that'll give you a headache right quick.

sa1937 Community Regular

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

birdie22 Enthusiast

Below is the response I received from mikes. Use your best judgement.

---------------------------

Thanks so much for contacting mike

sandsurfgirl Collaborator

I still wouldn't touch it. Too scary.

sandsurfgirl Collaborator

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

JNBunnie1 Community Regular

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Below is the response I received from mikes. Use your best judgement.

---------------------------

Thanks so much for contacting mike’s. Good news...you've got it right, the following information applies to all of our products, not just the two lite flavors. Enjoy!

mike’s hard lemonade products available in the United States are lemon malt based beverages (fermented barley beer malt). Highly sensitive tests indicate that mike’s products do not contain any traces of gluten. Our malt beer base is fermented and processed using a highly technical and proprietary, multi stage filtration process which removes all gluten.

Our products were sent to the Food Allergy Research Program at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln to be analyzed using the R5 ELISA test which is currently the industry recognized test for gluten. To be considered gluten free, products must test below 20 ppm (parts per million). In this test one ppm is equal to one milligram of gluten per kilogram of sample. The lowest the R5 ELISA test can quantify is 5 ppm. Our mike’s hard lemonade products tested below the limit of quantification, meaning less than 5 ppm, less than the 20 ppm needed to qualify as gluten free.

Because the R5 ELISA tests cannot quantify below 5 ppm, please consult with your doctor if you are extremely sensitive so the best decision can be made for you in the very slight chance that there would be unquantifiable traces of gluten in the product.

Sincerely,

Eliot

mike’s Consumer Relations

*****************************************

Wasn't there something a while back about a beer that was gluten based, filtered, tested and tested ok but that was only on one type of test? If they tested something else they came up with gluten? I don't want to freak people out at all but am I imagining that thread? Could this be the same type of thing?

EDIT: Ok, this is what I was thinking of.... read down about testing for hordein. Open Original Shared Link

sandsurfgirl Collaborator

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

Nobody was made unwelcome. It's a discussion. You say something. I say something. You may disagree. I may disagree. That's fine. If the wine makes you sick don't drink it.

Just as anecdotal accounts can be helpful, you also don't want more restriction on our diets than is necessary. People don't need to be afraid of wine because wheat paste is not a common sealer and even if it's used, it doesn't get into the wine. Wheat would ruin the flavor of the wine.

There have been long discussions about this and consensus is that wine is safe.

Here is an article from a woman who has celiac and used to sell wine barrels.

Open Original Shared Link

lesliev523 Rookie

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.

That's why I get my wine in a box! LOL

JNBunnie1 Community Regular

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

Sansurfgirl, my apologies. Perhaps I'm the only one who would interpret this particular statement, and the response to it, as dismissive.

KMMO320 Contributor

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

I have no idea if what I feel after drinking alcohal is related to Celiac or not, but I absolutley cannot tolerate any alcohal at all. I have tried and tried..each time, within 15 mins of sipping, I get horrible pains up my back, in my kidneys and I get extremely dizzy,and a whopping headache comes on. This is only after SIPS. So I just finally said Ok, I must be allergic or something. Wine, Beer, Tequila, doesnt matter.

SO, like I said, no idea if its related, but I know I am extremely sensitive to something so I avoid ALL alcohals altogether. I really dont miss it, Ive never been a drinker.

GFinDC Veteran

I had reactions to wines also. It seemed to me that the chardonays were the worst, but the red wines also bothered me. In making chardonays they add lots of interesting flavors, using interesting ingredients. I forget what they call it, but sometimes they add a few staves from a whiskey barrel to the chardonay to give it some flavor.

Anyhow, it turned out my real problem with wine wasn't gluten. It was grapes. I finally realized that I react to grapes themselves, in any form. Including raisins, grape juice or wine. Those singing raisins in the underwear commercials really get to me also. Ergh! that's a joke, ha ha. But the grapes are gone from my diet, in any form, and I don't have those problems any more.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Jess270 replied to AnnaNZ's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      29

      Bitters for digestion?

    2. - cristiana commented on Jefferson Adams's article in Origins of Celiac Disease
      7

      Why Bananas No Longer Cure Celiac Disease

    3. - trents replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    4. - GeoPeanut replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    5. - trents replied to KRipple's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Celiac or Addison's complications? Can someone share their experience?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,057
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Glutard007
    Newest Member
    Glutard007
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @KRipple! Sorry to hear of all your husband's health problems. I can only imagine how anxious this makes you as when our spouse suffers we hurt right along with them. Can you post the results from the Celiac blood testing for us to look at? We would need the names of the tests run, the numeric results and (this is important) the reference ranges for each test used to establish high/low/negative/positive. Different labs use different rating scales so this is why I ask for this. There aren't industry standards. Has your husband seen any improvement from eliminating gluten from his diet? If your husband had any positive results from his celiac blood antibody testing, this is likely what triggered the consult with a  GI doc for an endoscopy. During the endoscopy, the GI doc will likely biopsy the lining of the small bowel lining to check for the damage caused by celiac disease. This would be for confirmation of the results of the blood tests and is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. But here is some difficult information I have for you. If your husband has been gluten free already for months leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy, it will likely invalidate the biopsy and result in a false negative. Starting the gluten free diet now will allow the lining of the small bowel to begin healing and if enough healing takes place before the biopsy happens, there will be no damage to see. How far out is the endoscopy scheduled for? There still may be time for your husband to go back on gluten, what we call a "gluten challenge" to ensure valid test results.
    • kate g
      Ive read articles that there is stage 2 research being conducted for drugs that will limit damage to celiacs through cross contamination- how close are they to this will there be enough funding to create a mainstream drug? 
×
×
  • Create New...