Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Labeling Vent


moose07

Recommended Posts

moose07 Apprentice

My local grocery store (safeway) has starting putting little signs by things that are gluten free. The other day I was buying some Wolfgang Puck soups some of which are specifically labeled gluten free. I grabbed a few of the ones in which the store had labeled gluten free but I was in a hurry and stupidly did not read all the labels on them. Well today I went to go eat the hearty vegtable one and after a few bites saw what looked to be barley. I quickly went back and read the label of the soup and it was in fact barley.

Now I'm just waiting around until I get sick. I alreayd have a cold so the added glutening is going to make it that much better. I'm pretty upset with myself for not reading label but I'm also mad at the grocery store. I know the three that I picked out all had these little green signs under them stating they were gluten free. Ahhh I'm so frustrated.

So for future warning don't be dumb like me and trust a store to correctly label things. :/


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Sorry. Yeah, I've noticed those labels in stuff I can't figure out are gluten-free or not (natural flavorings, lots of chemical names) - no gluten-free on the label or other disclosure.

Freaks me out to the point I ignore them.

And then they put the wrong cans in the wrong spot - so if the label says gluten-free it may be referring to something else.

dani nero Community Regular

I too have fallen for the same mistake and feel your frustration :-( I hope you don't get too sick and get well soon.

JNBunnie1 Community Regular

I personally dislike grocery store signs that say gluten free for this very reason. The signs that come from the store are put there by some low level manager who probably doesn't understand Celiac, for one thing. And having worked for years in a grocery store, I know that customers tend to be completely uncaring in their behavior and leave products strewn about, mixed up, and all over the place! I completely ignore those signs.

I hope you don't wind up feeling too poorly!

IrishHeart Veteran

Sorry, Moose :(

I hope you have a quick rebound. Maybe you will skate through relatively untouched. Fingers crossed.

Drink lots of water, hon.

Googles Community Regular

I found a sign at one store that had been put in the wrong place (on a food that was obviously not gluten free). I pointed it out to a store employee who didn't seem to care. After that I ignored all those signs. I'm sorry this happened to you. You should let the store know if you haven't.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    smendelson
    Newest Member
    smendelson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...