Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Westbrae Naturals Miso


lorka150

Recommended Posts

lorka150 Collaborator

Hi everyone,

I bought some Westbrae Naturals Miso (Open Original Shared Link) when I was travelling because I was craving some miso. Anyway, I figured bcasue it was Hains Celestial it would be okay, because I thought that they note everything.

This company has a line of items that ARE labelled as gluten-free (like Imagine soups). Westbrae Naturals isn't a part of that. I called the company and she basically gave me the "we aren't sure of our suppliers" spiel. Normally I would never buy the item based on this, but I did already buy it because I was away (and it cost $8 so I don't want to toss it or give it away yet!)

I had also emailed the company before calling because it was a weekend. This (below) is what they wrote (note that the link they provide for their gluten-free items does not include the miso).

Looking at the ingredients of the miso, it doesn't include natural flavors. What would you do? Has anyone tried this before? I don't want to take a risk if I don't have to, but I do know I run a tight ship with my celiac.

-----

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Westbrae Miso Red (4X8) (K) (Wb). We strive to maintain the highest quality products and your satisfaction is very important to us.

We consider gluten to be in the following, barley, bulgur, couscous, durum, graham flour, kamut, malt , rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and any other types of wheat. We do not consider oat products to be gluten free due to the fact that studies are needed to determine the long- term safety of oat consumption. The issue of cross contamination with oat and wheat remains a concern in North America.

Consumer health and safety is our number one concern. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include natural flavors or spices.

Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim will carry the triangular Gluten-Free symbol, be labeled gluten-free, or specify Gluten Free certification by GFCO. To learn more about the wide variety of gluten free foods we offer please visit www.glutenfreechoices.com. We hope you find the information, recipes and articles to be a useful resource.

Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling.

We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.

Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.

Sigrid

Consumer Relations Representative

----


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



missy'smom Collaborator

The starter culture for miso can be grown on barley and when it is that barley is not considered an ingredient since it is later separated from the part that is put into the miso product. If you go to South River Miso Co.'s website they have a great explanation with photos of the miso making process. I know some disagree with me, but that part of the process and labeling issue with regards to barley is why I don't eat comercially made miso unless I can confirm it is made with kome koji, meaning the starter culture is grown on rice.

kenlove Rising Star

Miss's Mom summed it up. With miso you have to know how it was made. Im working in JApan right now and last night asked to see the package of miso -- something not done here but once i explained why the staf and chef at a small restaurant became interested in knowing more. It was kome koji or rice starter and made with daizo ( soy beans) instead of barley. A lot of red miso is made from barley. If you have a japanese market in your town then you cna almost always find at least 1 type of miso you can have.

Hi everyone,

I bought some Westbrae Naturals Miso (Open Original Shared Link) when I was travelling because I was craving some miso. Anyway, I figured bcasue it was Hains Celestial it would be okay, because I thought that they note everything.

This company has a line of items that ARE labelled as gluten-free (like Imagine soups). Westbrae Naturals isn't a part of that. I called the company and she basically gave me the "we aren't sure of our suppliers" spiel. Normally I would never buy the item based on this, but I did already buy it because I was away (and it cost $8 so I don't want to toss it or give it away yet!)

I had also emailed the company before calling because it was a weekend. This (below) is what they wrote (note that the link they provide for their gluten-free items does not include the miso).

Looking at the ingredients of the miso, it doesn't include natural flavors. What would you do? Has anyone tried this before? I don't want to take a risk if I don't have to, but I do know I run a tight ship with my celiac.

-----

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Westbrae Miso Red (4X8) (K) (Wb). We strive to maintain the highest quality products and your satisfaction is very important to us.

We consider gluten to be in the following, barley, bulgur, couscous, durum, graham flour, kamut, malt , rye, semolina, spelt, triticale and any other types of wheat. We do not consider oat products to be gluten free due to the fact that studies are needed to determine the long- term safety of oat consumption. The issue of cross contamination with oat and wheat remains a concern in North America.

Consumer health and safety is our number one concern. We do not have lists of products that are specifically considered to be gluten free. Reading the label is the best way to check for the presence of ingredients which contain gluten. If gluten is a major ingredient, it will be specified in the ingredient list. For consumers concerned about the presence of trace amounts of gluten, we suggest avoiding products that include natural flavors or spices.

Hain Celestial Group products that make a gluten-free claim will carry the triangular Gluten-Free symbol, be labeled gluten-free, or specify Gluten Free certification by GFCO. To learn more about the wide variety of gluten free foods we offer please visit www.glutenfreechoices.com. We hope you find the information, recipes and articles to be a useful resource.

Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling.

We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.

Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.

Sigrid

Consumer Relations Representative

----

lorka150 Collaborator

Miss's Mom summed it up. With miso you have to know how it was made. Im working in JApan right now and last night asked to see the package of miso -- something not done here but once i explained why the staf and chef at a small restaurant became interested in knowing more. It was kome koji or rice starter and made with daizo ( soy beans) instead of barley. A lot of red miso is made from barley. If you have a japanese market in your town then you cna almost always find at least 1 type of miso you can have.

How do I find this out for this one? I tried it anyway and am not 100% sure how I felt.

missy'smom Collaborator

Contact the mfr. and ask what grains are innoculated with the starter culture and what grains are used in the bed that the starter culture is grown on. Leave the word gluten out of it. You will know by what grains they use, you know which grains contain gluten. Look up info. on how miso is made and then you can make an informed decision whether or not you feel it is safe, if it is grown on gluten containing grains, if you feel that it is possible that even if those grains are not included as an ingredient in the final product that they are removed thoroughly enough to make the miso gluten-free to your satisfaction.

kenlove Rising Star

sometimes on imported miso the english label will cover the japanese label which often gives much more detailed info. You could try to find someone to read it for you or post a picture and either Missys mom, or I or someone else should be able to tell what the starter was

How do I find this out for this one? I tried it anyway and am not 100% sure how I felt.

lorka150 Collaborator

I had called them and their reply was about. The actual ingredients are here: Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Jess270 replied to AnnaNZ's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      29

      Bitters for digestion?

    2. - cristiana commented on Jefferson Adams's article in Origins of Celiac Disease
      7

      Why Bananas No Longer Cure Celiac Disease

    3. - trents replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    4. - GeoPeanut replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      23

      Vaccines

    5. - trents replied to KRipple's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      1

      Celiac or Addison's complications? Can someone share their experience?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,054
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Carlie
    Newest Member
    Carlie
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jess270
      This sounds to me like histamine intolerance. Some foods have more or less histamine. processed or aged meats, fermented food like yoghurt or kimchi and bread (yeast), spinach, eggplant and mushroom are high in histamine. Other foods like tomatoes are histamine liberators, they encourage your mast cells to release histamine, which can also trigger the reactions you describe, flu like symptoms, joint pain, urinary tract irritation, rash, stomach upset, nausea, diarrhoea & fatigue. I had liver pain like you describe, as part of the intolerance is usually a sluggish liver that makes processing all the histamine difficult. There are multiple possible root causes of histamine intolerance, usually it’s a symptom of something else. In my case, leaky gut (damaged gut wall)caused by undiagnosed celiac, but for others it’s leaky gut caused by other things like dysbiosis. Some people also experience histamine intolerance due to mould exposure or low levels of DAO (the enzyme that breaks down histamine in the gut). I’d try a low histamine diet & if that doesn’t improve symptoms fully, try low oxalate too. As others have suggested, supplements like vitamin d, b, l-glutamine to support a healthy gut & a good liver support supplement too. If you’re in a histamine flare take vitamin c to bowel tolerance & your symptoms will calm down (avoid if you find you have oxalate intolerance though). Best of luck 
    • trents
      @GeoPeanut, milk is one of the better sources of iodine. Iodine is known to exacerbate dermatitis herpetiformis. Many people find that a low iodine diet helps them avoid dermatitis herpetiformis outbreaks. So, maybe the fact that you have limited your dairy intake of late is helping with that.
    • GeoPeanut
      Hi, I'm new here. Sorry for your troubles.herenis a thought to mull over. I recently was diagnosed with celiac disease,  and hashimoto's and dermatitis herpetiformis after getting covid 19. I eat butter, and 1/2 cup of Nancy's yogurt daily. I stopped all other dairy and  dermatitis herpetiformis is gone! I also make grass fed beef bone broth to help with myopathy that has occurred. 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @KRipple! Sorry to hear of all your husband's health problems. I can only imagine how anxious this makes you as when our spouse suffers we hurt right along with them. Can you post the results from the Celiac blood testing for us to look at? We would need the names of the tests run, the numeric results and (this is important) the reference ranges for each test used to establish high/low/negative/positive. Different labs use different rating scales so this is why I ask for this. There aren't industry standards. Has your husband seen any improvement from eliminating gluten from his diet? If your husband had any positive results from his celiac blood antibody testing, this is likely what triggered the consult with a  GI doc for an endoscopy. During the endoscopy, the GI doc will likely biopsy the lining of the small bowel lining to check for the damage caused by celiac disease. This would be for confirmation of the results of the blood tests and is considered the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. But here is some difficult information I have for you. If your husband has been gluten free already for months leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy, it will likely invalidate the biopsy and result in a false negative. Starting the gluten free diet now will allow the lining of the small bowel to begin healing and if enough healing takes place before the biopsy happens, there will be no damage to see. How far out is the endoscopy scheduled for? There still may be time for your husband to go back on gluten, what we call a "gluten challenge" to ensure valid test results.
    • kate g
      Ive read articles that there is stage 2 research being conducted for drugs that will limit damage to celiacs through cross contamination- how close are they to this will there be enough funding to create a mainstream drug? 
×
×
  • Create New...