Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Progresso Cream Of Mushroom Soup


mroper

Recommended Posts

mroper Rookie

I was reading a recipe on the Gluten Free Pantry website and noticed that one of them called for a can of Progresso Cream of Mushroom soup. I have read somewhere that this soup was gluten-free, but still have a hard time believing it!!

Cream of mushroom soup is one of those things that I miss a lot! Before going gluten-free I used this in so many recipes.

Does anyone know for sure if it is gluten-free?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



KaitiUSA Enthusiast

If my memory is correct that is a General Mills brand correct? If so, they will not hide gluten and all you have to do is check the label for wheat,rye,barley, or oats. I know that they have some that are gluten free.

hez Enthusiast

If it is the soup I am thinking of it is gluten-free. However, it is not cream of mushroom soup like Campbell's. It is more like mushroom soup. I have heard that people use it in their recipe's and just hold back some of the liquid that they would normally use.

grantschoep Contributor

I know Progresso's Cream of Mushroom is gluten-free. I have about 5 cans of it down stairs. I like to try it up as a sauce on meatballs, and throw it on top of some boiled or baked potatoes. Not really a fan of mushrooms, but this was a recipe my Mom had always made, and its gluten-free

chasesparents Rookie

It is gluten free, I use it in alot of recipes. It is a prepared soup so it's much runnier then Campbell's, but there are ways to thicken it up if you need to. And it tastes great, especially with big chunks of mushrooms in it !!!!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,011
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Shahin Arab
    Newest Member
    Shahin Arab
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
    • Scott Adams
      How long ago were you diagnosed with celiac disease? How long have you been gluten-free? Is your diet strict, and are you 100% gluten-free? Do you eat out in restaurants?
    • trents
      Key word, "gluten-like".  By the way, have you looked up Dr. Osborne's credentials and his background? He is a licensed nutritionist but his scientific? medical? clinical background is that of a chiropractor. He is not taken seriously by many experts in the medical and scientific community. If it is helpful to you to see these other cereal grain proteins as "gluten", I'm fine with that. The problem is, when you begin to promote that line of thinking to others, people get confused about what grains they actually need to avoid. About 10% of celiacs react to oat protein (avenin) like they do gluten (the protein in wheat/barley/rye). That is not news. But the vast majority of celiacs have no issue with these other cereal grains. If we start throwing around the term "gluten" to loosely embrace the proteins found in all cereal grains it's going to be very confusing to those just getting started who only need to avoid wheat/barley/rye. And it will also create a great deal of confusion in the restaurant industry trying to cater to that element of their customer base needing to eat gluten free.
×
×
  • Create New...