Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Children's Vitamin?


lipreader

Recommended Posts

lipreader Apprentice

My 3 1/2 year old was diagnosed with celiac about a month ago. She loves Flintstone vitamins, but of course they're not gluten-free. I got Centrum Kids Complete but she doesn't like them. Are there any other options I can give her that she might like?

Thanks!

Lisa


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Cait6799 Rookie

My 6 yo daughter (very picky eater) loves the Natures Plus Animal Parade. She likes to pick out which Animal she is going to have. They are orange flavored and I buy them in a health food store. Good Luck!

Kasey'sMom Enthusiast

My dd is 3 1/2 and she loves the Yummi Bears from Hero Nutritionals. I give her the Mulit-Vitamin and the Calcium with Vitamin D. I've also given her the Yummi Bears Vitamin C as well. The Multi and the Vitamin C taste like gummy bears. The calcium has a softer texture but is bear shapped. They also have sour flavored, vegetarian gummies if you're into that. My dd beggs me for her vitamins and everyday I have to tell her she'll have to wait until morning for more. :) My dd has tons of allergies and it lists what it doesn't contain on the bottle.

I get these from the health food store. I often order them from Vitacost or a discount vitamin shop online.

Hope you find something your dd will like. :)

redheadheather Explorer

I'm contacting the company, but does anyone know off hand if One a Day children's vitamins are gluten-free?

Thanks!

lipreader Apprentice

I just checked the list at Delphi Forums, and this is what they have for One a Day:

One-A-Day (Bayer) (000.000.0000) (ve=09/13/02)

Company does not add gluten-derived products to their Multiple Vitamin products as an ingredient. However they cannot guarantee their vendor-supplied ingredients are 100% gluten-free.

So based on that, it's not safe to buy - right? :(

I should add that dd doesn't like things that are too sweet. I don't know if the other vitamin suggestions fall in that category.

Lisa

LauraZ Rookie

The chewable multi-vitamin that our naturopath recommended (and my kids love) is Pioneer's Chewable Vitamins and Minerals. It's vegetarian and allergen-free. You can usually get it at health food stores.

Laura

hilaryw Newbie

I don't know about "like" but my 4 yo daughter tolerates (with a treat afterwards) two Solaray Multivitamins chewable cherry flavor from Whole Foods. High in iron, which she is deficient in.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



e&j0304 Enthusiast

Flinstone's Vitamins aren't gluten-free??? I thought those were ok and I've been giving them to Ella. I have been searching for a week now trying to figure out what little bit of gluten I think she's been getting and I guess it's probably those.

Does anyone know for sure if they're ok or not?

Thanks!

celiac3270 Collaborator

<<<<Warning: this information may be incorrect, as I am straining to remember this :P >>>>

I don't think that the manufacturer explicitly stated Flinstones to contain gluten, but they didn't really answer? Or maybe it was one of those: it might be gluten-free, but we don't know how the other people who ship us the raw material produce their stuff.....?

Kailynsmom Apprentice

hey, I saw the other day that one of the versions of Gummy Vites are gluten free. I'll check which ones, but they're the ones that are like gummy bears. My daughter loves them.

Guest gliX

I contacted Flintstones and they said they couldn't guarantee if it was gluten-free or not. I know i'm way too old to still be having chewables but i use the rugrats chewables. they taste identical to flintstones and are gluten-free..

2Boys4Me Enthusiast

Check with Jamieson Natural Sources.

The children's mulitvitamin is salt, yeast, gluten, lactose and aspartame free. Says so right on the label.

They are made in Canada, so I don't know if they are available in the U.S.

website: Open Original Shared Link

I couldn't find a phone number on the label.

e&j0304 Enthusiast

I have another quick question about vitamins. I did buy Ella some of the Gummy Vites today and she loves them. However, they do not say that they contain any iron. Ella's hair was falling out (I assume from lack of iron) and she was anemic. Since she is presumably absorbing more nutrients now since being gluten-free, does she need a vitamin with iron or is she getting enough just with the food that she eats? She is a good eater.

Thanks!

AmandaD Community Regular

Just today I bought some children's chewables (raspberry) from Freeda. They have a completely gluten-free line. The kids loved them and they're easily absorbale for individuals with Celiac.

My 3 1/2 year old was diagnosed with celiac about a month ago. She loves Flintstone vitamins, but of course they're not gluten-free. I got Centrum Kids Complete but she doesn't like them. Are there any other options I can give her that she might like?

Thanks!

Lisa

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

sashabetty Explorer

Whole Foods make a Whole Kids Multivitamin that states that it is gluten-free.

HTH,

Betty

VydorScope Proficient
Flinstone's Vitamins aren't gluten-free???  I thought those were ok and I've been giving them to Ella.  I have been searching for a week now trying to figure out what little bit of gluten I think she's been getting and I guess it's probably those. 

Does anyone know for sure if they're ok or not?

Thanks!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

As far as we can tell they are NOT okay. I too called them and they said they had no idea if any of thier suppliers used gluten or not. This was not a CYA sounding answer, more of a complete "we dont care to find out". And my son got better when we stopped giving him them. For now he getting Polyvisol, its a liquid we hide in his drinks.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,877
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    SamEsplanade
    Newest Member
    SamEsplanade
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...