Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cheez Whiz Not Gluten Free?


123glldd

Recommended Posts

123glldd Collaborator

I'm in Canada right now visiting my family..I was calling some companies making sure about different foods that mom has here in the house..I was informed by Kraft that Cheese Whiz is NOT gluten free. I read on this website it was.....is there a difference between U.S. and Canada or what?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

The answer is not a simple one.

Kraft has an excellent policy regarding gluten, but it can be confusing for folks new to the game.

Kraft's gluten disclosure policy is the same in every country where they do business. If an ingredient is derived from a gluten grain, the gluten grain will be named on the package label, either in the ingredient list, or in a "contains" statement (in practice, usually both).

If you call their customer service line, they will NEVER say that a product is gluten-free. This is because products change, and they can not be sure that the ingredient information in their CURRENT files matches the product you actually have, even if the UPC (bar code) is the same.

They WILL tell you to read the label on the package that you have. The ingredient list there will accurately reflect the product in that container. If any gluten-grain derived ingredient is present, the grain will be clearly disclosed.

That is as good as it gets with mainstream manufacturers. Kraft is on our side.

So, read the label on your mom's Cheez Whiz jar. It will have the answer.

Lisa Mentor

I'm in Canada right now visiting my family..I was calling some companies making sure about different foods that mom has here in the house..I was informed by Kraft that Cheese Whiz is NOT gluten free. I read on this website it was.....is there a difference between U.S. and Canada or what?

Krista, many products vary from county to country....even US and Canada, for instance, Campbell's products are very different in both countries.

  • 2 weeks later...
123glldd Collaborator

To add to this now..I called them about something from my grandmothers house the other day...regarding a jello chocolate pudding snack. I wasn't sure about what one ingredient was and i wanted to be sure so i called them and the guy on the phone told me it contained stuff derived from gluten.....even though nothing was clearly listed..so i was confused....Later on that day I called them again about something else unexpectedly and the woman on the line told me the same thing you have...they will clearly list. But when i told her about what the guy told me about the jello she didn't know why he'd say it contains it and to not eat it if it's not clearly listed. I wonder if it was the same guy who told me that about cheese whiz? It's only causing me confusion..should i eat the cheese whiz and pudding snacks or not? uugh

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

I guess there's only one way for you to know, how bad do you want the flippin' cheez whiz??? Patrick which thread was it that we discussed the modified food starch? That's a good one with a link to the info. Very interesting info. I'm not knew to this gig, per se, but there's always more to learn. I have made the choice that if I don't know what it is, can't pronounce the ingredients, or question anything I won't eat it. Some are better at the labels than I, but I just can't take a chance and that's my own personal feelings. I'm more of a whole foods person anyway, so it all comes down to what you like I guess. So, how bad do you want that cheez whiz? Lol I think I'd forgotten it even existed until now, my Canadian cousins used to eat it on toast...while I was breaking out my American peanut butter, oh the memories! :)

psawyer Proficient

Kraft will clearly label any ingredient derived from a gluten source by naming the grain. They do not test their ingredients or final products for gluten content. Many of us here, including me, trust Kraft products.

Mateto Enthusiast

Wow this scares me. I haven't had Cheez Whiz since going gluten-free, but...I'll have to check the label like you said.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Skylark Collaborator

You're the second person who has gotten a weird answer from Kraft. I don't think they are training their telephone people about gluten. I'd trust the label.

I'm enough of a health food person that Cheez Whiz is out of the question anyway. :lol: If I'm going to wreck my stomach with dairy, it's going to be a really high-quality aged cheese!

123glldd Collaborator

Oh I didn't want the cheese whiz but my mom may put it on my gluten free hamburger bun for instance and put it in the oven to toast it to have hamburgers etc.

I just called about their peanut butter..and the guy...who i hope isn't the same guy...gave me the same talk about labeling and i felt okay about it but then he went on a seperate shpiel and said if it lists "spices" on the label or anything like that to ASSUME IT HAS GLUTEN. So I said to him this confused me cause I thought kraft was a company that if the spices contain gluten it will list it in brackets next to it....he said to assume it does...anyone out there eating kraft products that list "spices"? Just sheer curiosity.

psawyer Proficient

Nothing grain-derived can be listed as "spices." "Seasonings" are another matter.

In Canada and in the US, wheat must be disclosed using the word "wheat."

Kraft's policy is:

The ingredient information on labels of Kraft products is very specific to help you make accurate and informed choices. If a Kraft product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount. For labeling purposes, Kraft products will always state the names 'wheat, barley, rye and/or oats' when they are added to a product either directly as an ingredient or as part of an ingredient.

Open Original Shared Link

123glldd Collaborator

Gee I wonder if it's the same guy I got on the phone before? :P So i SHOULDN'T assume spices means gluten then like he was saying?

Skylark Collaborator

If you did get a different guy on the phone at Kraft, I'm really starting to wonder about the accuracy of the information on their website. There is a pretty serious discrepancy between what Peter quoted and what their telephone reps are telling people. Do you trust the website or what the telephone reps are being instructed to tell customers???

psawyer Proficient

In any event, it would be a violation of Canadian and US rules to label a grain product as "spices." That fact says that the person is confused or misinformed.

psawyer Proficient

I was at the grocery store just now to get some items. Although Cheez Whiz is not a product I use, I read the labels on the regular and light versions.

I am in Canada, and based on a read of the labels, they are both gluten-free per Canadian label regulations.

Both list mustard as an ingredient. Both say "Contains: Milk, Mustard"

The inclusion of mustard means they have been updated to comply with new rules effective August 4, 2012. Those revisions add mustard, and ALL GLUTEN GRAINS to the priority allergen list (wheat has been there for years).

FWIW, the ingredients did not list spices, but did list seasoning. Under the old rules, barley malt could conceivably have been hidden there, although I never found a case where it was.

123glldd Collaborator

Really really strange...well...I honestly trust the fact that they say they label properly...i still use their shredded cheese and what not but i'm just a little nervous now but a lady i talked to on the phone the same day as the guy who originally told me this....she said what you all are saying...so it's rather confusing. Seems like there is a divide with the phone representatives.

  • 6 months later...
hoggja Newbie

I was at the grocery store just now to get some items. Although Cheez Whiz is not a product I use, I read the labels on the regular and light versions.

I am in Canada, and based on a read of the labels, they are both gluten-free per Canadian label regulations.

Both list mustard as an ingredient. Both say "Contains: Milk, Mustard"

The inclusion of mustard means they have been updated to comply with new rules effective August 4, 2012. Those revisions add mustard, and ALL GLUTEN GRAINS to the priority allergen list (wheat has been there for years).

FWIW, the ingredients did not list spices, but did list seasoning. Under the old rules, barley malt could conceivably have been hidden there, although I never found a case where it was.

I am a super sensitive Celiac and have recently tried Cheez Wiz in Canada, and I was fine. I have reacted to many other products

listed as gluten free by the manufacturer which were under 20 ppm such as Frenchs Mustard (I am currently having a severe reaction to Frenchs Yellow Mustard) but Cheez Wiz has not caused me any grief. Hooray!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Wheatwacked replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      8

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    2. - plumbago replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      8

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    3. - trents replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      8

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    4. - knitty kitty replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      8

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    5. - trents replied to Tyoung's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      Celiac Disease and Mild Chronic Gastritis


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,910
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Manana
    Newest Member
    Manana
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Wheatwacked
      @plumbago, I found a good PDF on cholesterol:  Unlocking the mysteries of VLDL: exploring its production, intracellular trafficking, and metabolism as therapeutic targets I just started it, but it may have answers for us, with whacky cholesterol.  The pharmaceuticals don't seem to be interested in anything but statins.   "The nicotine in tobacco causes a decrease in the HDL cholesterol level. " Maybe you should start smoking? 🤪 I have high LDL and low HDL.  It is genetic mutations in the LDLR, APOB, PCSK9, or LDLRAP1 genes. My whole family is on statins for Familial Hyperliperdemia except me.  December I had ultrasound and cat scan for Carotid Artery blockage and both sides are above 85% blockage.  I started on Atorvastatin and that made me weaker than ever, even with CoQ10.  I asked for and got prescription for 2000 mg/day Nicotinic Acid B3 and in the 3 weeks my numbers changed. I am feeling realy good lately.  Stronger and more flexible.  Sleeping better.  Getting roto router (TCar) as soon as I get clearance from a cardiologist.  I expect that by my next blood panels in April to be even better. I am beginning to believe that like vitamin D where the RDA only accounts for preventing Rickets, the RDA for B3 is way underestimated.   From Oct 22 to Jan 17: A1c from 13.5 to 10.2 eGFR from 55 to 79 Triglyeride from 458 to 362 Total cholesterol from 245 to 264 HDL from 27 to 44 VLDL from 84 to 68 LDL from 134 to 154
    • plumbago
      I have taken thiamine on and off (just not at this exact moment), and I’m not sure it's made any difference. Yes, I almost always “fast” (12 hours NPO) for blood tests, as do a great many other Americans, so I tend to think that’s not it. All I can say is that the mystery continues. I could do some speculating here…well, heck, let me go ahead and speculate now: The lab ranges we all see on our reports are more or less the averages of Americans who have had those blood tests. Now, it’s up to you and me whether or not to think of the average American as healthy. I can make arguments both ways, more often than not, on the negative. My point here is that maybe the current range of HDL is somewhat skewed (ie, low), and maybe just maybe my super high (plus 100s) HDL results are not something to worry about; the range just needs updating. Why do I say this? Because pre-celiac disease diagnosis, my HDL values were in the normal range, but post celiac disease diagnosis, my HDL levels are way above average. See where I’m going? My trusty guidebook on celiac disease, Recognizing Celiac Disease by Cleo Libonati, RN, BSN, says that HDL increases after being on the gluten free diet. Or can increase, I guess. Then again, it could be something else. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ In thinking of going to a cardiologist, I sort of fear that he/she will be dismissive of a link to celiac disease, treated celiac disease, and would not therefore be considering all possibilities. @trents I'm sorry you've been diligently working on your numbers to no effect. That must be frustrating. LDL is a world that is far better understood than HDL, so for you there's maybe less "mystery." Familial hypercholesterolemia is for sure something that can be tested. Outside of that, you're right, genetics can determine a general pattern.
    • trents
      Well, I have the opposite problem. My LDL has been moderately high for years. I eat healthy and exercise regularly but can't seem to move that meter. I used to be on a statin (and my doctors want me to go back on one) and it brought both HDL and LDL down but the ratios never changed. I think a lot of that cholesterol stuff is just baked into the genes.
    • knitty kitty
      Wow, @plumbago, Curiouser, and curioser... Have you been fasting?  Apparently HDL levels increase after fasting... https://ajcn.nutrition.org/article/S0002-9165(23)31185-7/abstract   I must say it, try taking some Thiamine.  Thiamine helps regulate lipoproteins... Thiamine helped lower HDL in this study whether they had diabetes or not. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3921172/#:~:text=Serum thiamine and its derivatives,supplementation (p %3D 0.009).
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Tyoung! I would assume for the time being that the mild gastritis and the celiac disease are connected and that once you get a good handle on gluten free eating and experience significant healing in the lining of your duodenum, you will also see improvement in the gastritis as well. Gastritis is more often than not an accompanying finding that is commented on in the post scope/biopsy notes when people are positive for celiac disease. 
×
×
  • Create New...