Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Wheat-free & Gluten-free Foods May Contain Wheat


gf4life

Recommended Posts

gf4life Enthusiast

I got this email from another support group I belong to and thought I would pass it on. Boy am I looking forward to getting the new labeling law passed!!

Study: Wheat-Free Foods May Contain Wheat

As Much as 20% of Wheat-Free Foods Contain Detectable Amount of Wheat Proteins

By Melissa Schorr

WebMD Medical News

Reviewed By Brunilda Nazario, MD

on Monday, March 22, 2004

March 22, 2004 (San Francisco) -- One fifth of common grocery foods labeled wheat-free or gluten-free may actually contain significant amounts of wheat protein, a concern for people with wheat allergies.

"Caution must be taken when eating foods labeled gluten-free," says Ashley Lardizabal, a graduate student at the Food Allergy Research and Resource Program at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln. She presented her findings at the Annual Meeting of the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology.

Although frequently underdiagnosed, about one in every 150 people in the U.S. is affected by allergies to gluten -- found in rye, wheat, oats, and barley. Doctor's call this condition gluten sensitivity or celiac sprue.

There is no single standard for defining a gluten-free product. Therefore, the researchers conducted their study to find out the levels of wheat proteins in all types of foods.

The researchers tested 140 different food samples purchased at the grocery store to see whether people who suffer from gluten sensitivity could safely eat them.

The researchers tested a variety of products likely to contain wheat, including gums, alcohol, soy sauce, vinegars, and malt liquors, as well as "wheat-free" products. Overall, 16% of the products tested contained wheat proteins.

Most disturbingly, Lardizabal reports that 20% of the products labeled wheat-free actually contained some wheat protein -- even exceeding current labeling guidelines for gluten free.

In products considered non-wheat, such as chicken bouillon, corn cereal, and caramel ice cream topping, about 15% still contained some wheat proteins, most likely from cross-contamination during processing, she says.

All of the malt products contained wheat proteins; however, none of the alcohol products or gums contained any wheat protein.

"The good news is dietary choices are not as restricted as assumed," she says. "Food gums and distilled products are expected to be safe." However, patients with gluten sensitivity should not eat wheat starches, malt syrup, or extracts.

"This is in line with other studies that have shown there are contaminates," Wesley Burks, a professor of pediatrics at Duke University, who moderated the session, tells WebMD. "Be aware. If you are eating something that says it's wheat-free but [you're] having symptoms, talk to your physician."

  • 4 weeks later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



travelthomas Apprentice

This is something I have know all along because of my extreme sensitivity to gluten.

I would post this information in as many places as possible. ;)

  • 3 weeks later...
albapsyche Newbie

That's slightly disturbing!! I hate to say it, but that is soo true. I had something a while ago that I thought was gluten-free, but it was cross-contaminated. Boy did I get a reminder of what this disorder is all about. Oh well, not much one can do until the food labels are redone.

Ravyn

  • 1 month later...
celiac3270 Collaborator

Scary -- very scary that the could get away with that. Gosh...makes me wonder if I'm being contaminated.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,796
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Maria1981
    Newest Member
    Maria1981
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...