Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Big Girl Beverages That Aren't Distilled


Guest BERNESES

Recommended Posts

Guest BERNESES

Some day I dream of having another adult drink and I'm finding that I can't tolerate distilled alcohol/vinegar (no more vinegar martinis- UGH!) so my question is this: Are there any gluten free alcoholic beverages that aren't distilled? I'm wondering about gluten-free beer, hard cider, wine and champagne. I know nothing about how alcohol is produced. And if anyone knows of a gluten-free, distilled vinegar free salad dressing, please do tell! Thanks, Big Girl Beverly who hopes for a Beverage


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



frenchiemama Collaborator

I would try the cider. It's made from fermented apples (you can have fermented things, right?). I can only get Woodchuck where I live, and I like the dark and dry best.

frenchiemama Collaborator

Wine and champagne would be fine too, they are both made from fermented grapes and contain no grains (unless they added some kind of flavoring afterward, I haven't seen anything like that though).

I know nothing about gluten-free beers because I can't get those where I live.

jams Explorer
Wine and champagne would be fine too, they are both made from fermented grapes and contain no grains (unless they added some kind of flavoring afterward, I haven't seen anything like that though).

I know nothing about gluten-free beers because I can't get those where I live.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Just be carefull with champagne. I almost slipped at a wedding and drank a malted champagne. I am glad I caught that!! :unsure:

elonwy Enthusiast

Tequila is gluten free as long as its 100% Agave. Jose Quervo has mixes that are gluten-free. De Kuyper Shnapps are gluten-free, as Schnapps are made from the juice of whatever they say they are like apple or peach. The peppermint or Gold stuff I'm not so sure about. Most clear Rums are gluten-free.

I do a drink with fruit juice ( those new Dole Blends are awesome) Tequila and Peach Shnapps in place of the Triple Sec. Triple Sec is made from Orange Peels so is gluten-free, but I like the peach flavor better.

I've had tons of fun with bartenders, explaining what I could and couldn't have and then having them come up with something for me. If you're ever at Gulf Stream in Los Angeles, ask for an Andre's #2. Its a gluten-free drink he came up with for me that had me on the floor.

My problem is anything with sulphites makes me sneeze uncontrollably.

Elonwy

kabowman Explorer

I have found the only drinks not distilled from grains are potato vodka, tequilla, brandy, and rum - in addition to rest mentioned here. The shnapps I have looked at is distilled from grain and I think Triple Sec is distilled from fruit. I cannot drink ANY drinks distilled from ANY grains. I also cannot tolerate yeast which rules out wine, champaign, and all other gluten-free drinks/beers.

Due to my yeast intolerance, I cannot eat anything with vinegar - I have even tried the rice vinegar and it still bothers me. There is yeast in the process (same with wine). Therefore, if you have a problem with vinegar, I would look at maybe an intolerance for yeast - just a suggestion, nothing more, nothing less.

sb4480 Newbie

I find I'm fine with wine but cider gives me terrible D. I have no idea why but it's equally as bad as when I drink beer. I also like margaritas (as long as the mix is gluten-free). Unfortunately wine is the only "casual" thing I can handle unless I want to get rip-roarin drunk.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Carriefaith Enthusiast
I have no idea why but it's equally as bad as when I drink beer.
Is the beer gluten free?
sb4480 Newbie
Is the beer gluten free?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

No, I was just using that as an example of the severity of my reaction to hard cider.

Carriefaith Enthusiast
No, I was just using that as an example of the severity of my reaction to hard cider.
oh ok :)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,740
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Klsdurbin
    Newest Member
    Klsdurbin
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      You are most welcome, Marie.  Thank you for getting in touch, because this sort of post will be seen by other parents who find themselves in this position, I am sure there are many.   And as I say, in the long run, I am sure your daughter will be sorry for what she said.  I remember having a go at my dear Mum when I was in my twenties about something and then apologising, saying, "I don't know how you put up with me."  I can't remember her exact words but it was something along the lines of, "I used to say things like to my Mum.  Now it's my turn [to be on the receiving end]!"    😂  Although it isn't very nice to be on the receiving end, it is good your daughter feels safe to say these things to you. We look forward to hearing from you again in due course.  
    • Wheatwacked
      Are You Confused About Your Celiac Disease Lab Results? Some people test negative but have a positive biopsy, others test positive but negative biopsy.  This is why it can take years and misdiagnosis of other diseases that Celiac Disease can mimic. The above link is a good read with real life examples. Something I find interesting is that in 1980 or so a new diagnosis was created, Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, only 10 years after Norman Borlaug won the Nobel Peace Prize for creating our modern wheat and the Green Revolution.    
    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
×
×
  • Create New...