This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

gluten-free Since 8/15 - How Long Until I Feel Better?

Raining Skittles

Raining Skittles Rookie

I thought I started feeling better about a week after going gluten-free then I went to a BBQ. I'm totally new to all this and didn't even think that by eating a burger with no bun would be an issue - but now I know that a BBQ grill can be contaminated. I had a horrible night.

A few days went by and I felt a bit better again until I went to lunch with some friends and ordered steak. It came in an unidentified sauce that I'm certain now must have had some gluten in it. Sigh.

I removed all forms of dairy and gluten from my diet starting on 8/15 - gave away all the gluten containing food in my home.

If I don't eat anything at BBQs or restaurants for a while and am really careful (now that I know more about CC and a ton of other stuff), how long will it be until I really start to feel better?

I'm sure the timing varies depending on sensitivity levels, but some semblance of an idea would be really helpful.

I'm only 2 weeks in and I'm already getting discouraged that not only are my symptoms doing some kind of roller coaster ride, but they seem to be getting worse when I have them.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Gemme Rookie

I thought I started feeling better about a week after going gluten-free then I went to a BBQ. I'm totally new to all this and didn't even think that by eating a burger with no bun would be an issue - but now I know that a BBQ grill can be contaminated. I had a horrible night.