Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Oops, Read The Label Even On Liquid Stevia


1desperateladysaved

Recommended Posts

1desperateladysaved Proficient

I have been using flavored liquid stevia on occassion. I was having company and thought perhaps that I would use up some I don't eat anymore that has vanilla. I poured in the 1/2 tsp. Just after I did so I realized that in the 4 or so months since going gluten free I had never read the label. But it was after all just stevia, but stevia is a leaf and this is a liquid. There must be something else in it. I read it. Discovery time: There were natural flavorings in it. = wheat.

I checked the clear stevia which I have been using for my shakes and buckwheat cereal. Gasp the same. Then my husband discovered another brand in the refrigerater. Once again "natural flavorings".

If someone knows of stevia that does not include natural flavorings let me know. I do like the liquids best. It never seems to give me the bitter flavor.

Always read the label.

Diana


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Natural flavorings does not mean wheat. In the US, they must declare wheat if that is an ingredient.

bartfull Rising Star

"Natural flavoring" is USUALLY carried on corn. That's why Stevia is no good for folks with corn intolerance.

1desperateladysaved Proficient

Corn is a not for me (and many) too. I will check up on natural flavoring, because I was told it has gluten. Oh, I guess that is the difference. For me I am not to have any grain. I know corn has gluten, because we have used corn gluten to keep the weeds down in the garden.

Bartful, please explain "Carried on Corn."

Please also explain. that Stevia is not good for Celiacs. I can grow stevia plant out in my garden, grind it, and consume it. Were you, by chance thinking of xylitol?

Diana

bartfull Rising Star

OK, picture pure "flavoring". It doesn't take much. In order to put it into a food you must have enough of it to "spread around" evenly in that food. If you just put a drop into each item it will be concentrated in the area you dropped it in and won't be evenly distributed. So they usually put it in corn starch and those now flavored grains of corn starch CAN be evenly mixed into whatever food they are flavoring.

Xylitol is a no-no for corn intolerant people too, but because Stevia does have "natural flavoring", and because natural flavoring usually IS carried on corn, most corn intolerant folks avoid it.

kareng Grand Master

I know corn has gluten, because we have used corn gluten to keep the weeds down in the garden.

All grains have "gluten". Celiacs misuse that term when we are only referring to wheat, rye & barley. Corn gluten, rice gluten, etc are all safe for someone with Celiac. It is possible to have an issue with another food like corn or even bananas, that doesn't not mean they have the gluten that causes a Celiac reaction.

Please read the safe and unsafe food lists on this site. That might help you understand what has gluten and what doesn't.

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/safe-gluten-free-food-list-safe-ingredients-r181/

IrishHeart Veteran

I have used PURE stevia in baking. I am a celiac who gets sick rapidly and for weeks if gluten is involved in any way.

"natural flavoring" does NOT necessarily mean wheat, corn, soy.

Pure Stevia--does not contain gluten.

Pure Stevia---is not made from corn.

It is an herb.

Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



bartfull Rising Star

SOME Stevia does have corn in it. The stuff in packets at coffee shops has corn to keep it from clumping. And SOME stevia has corn from ethanol which is used in extracting it from the leaf.

From Wiki: Rebaudioside A has the least bitterness of all the steviol glycosides in the stevia plant. To produce rebaudioside A commercially, stevia plants are dried and subjected to a water extraction process. This crude extract contains about 50% rebaudioside A; its various glycoside molecules are separated via crystallization techniques, typically using ethanol or methanol as solvent. This allows the manufacturer to isolate pure rebaudioside A

Granted, it won't bother most people, but those who are sensitive to corn really should avoid it unless like Diana, they grow their own.

Takala Enthusiast

Some, no, a lot of the stevia brands I have seen for sale are carrying a "gluten free" label somewhere. I think some of the manufacturers are aware of the coincidence that the sugar avoiding people can also be the gluten avoiding people. You can go to their websites or contact them, and see what the carrier liquid or powdered fiber is made out of. (if I was trying to avoid corn, I'd think I'd just tear my hair out at this point :rolleyes: ) I've seen plain stevia in the health food stores, also, in the form of this powder you are supposed to serve in itty bitty measures.

Since I am the person who keeps pointing out that there is a labeling loophole with these natural flavorings labels, USDA vs. FDA, just be aware that you still can have gluten free AND natural flavorings in the same item, if the manufacturer is on the up and up. We who are more sensitive to mystery ingredients just have to be more careful and do a bit more research on some items.

An example of natural flavorings labels gone awry lately, was with those Starbucks strawberry- flavored fancy drinks not really being vegan, because they used cochineal, which is red dye made from insects, which upset some people, so they are phasing it out. Of course, cochineal is also used in a lot of cosmetics, and to some people, this matters, and they prefer to use vegan cosmetics, others probably don't really want to know what is in that blush. I just don't want my lipstick or balm to have gluten. :P

1desperateladysaved Proficient

OK, picture pure "flavoring". It doesn't take much. In order to put it into a food you must have enough of it to "spread around" evenly in that food. If you just put a drop into each item it will be concentrated in the area you dropped it in and won't be evenly distributed. So they usually put it in corn starch and those now flavored grains of corn starch CAN be evenly mixed into whatever food they are flavoring.

Xylitol is a no-no for corn intolerant people too, but because Stevia does have "natural flavoring", and because natural flavoring usually IS carried on corn, most corn intolerant folks avoid it.

Thank you.

1desperateladysaved Proficient

I only "Cook from scratch". I always thought that Salt, and other simple items would only have what is in the bold print. Hopefully, I woke up to this now.

Karen, I will have a look, or print of the lists of watch out fors.

DIana

  • 1 month later...
BethM55 Enthusiast

I use packets of "Stevia in the Raw", a powdered stevia. It contains dextrose and stevia leaf extract. Each little packet states "Naturally Gluten Free Food". This product also comes in bulk form, which I think is also gluten free, although I have not used it nor looked at the package in awhile. I believe instead of dextrose it contains maltodextrin, which is also gluten free.

1desperateladysaved Proficient

I use packets of "Stevia in the Raw", a powdered stevia. It contains dextrose and stevia leaf extract. Each little packet states "Naturally Gluten Free Food". This product also comes in bulk form, which I think is also gluten free, although I have not used it nor looked at the package in awhile. I believe instead of dextrose it contains maltodextrin, which is also gluten free.

Thanks,

I have purchased the green form of stevia. Perhaps next year I can plant it in the garden. I have made other attempts at that. Anyway, since I purchased the green form I very rarely use it. Maybe I can do without?

shadowicewolf Proficient

starbucks is now using tomato extract for the coloring... <_<

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,998
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kay k
    Newest Member
    Kay k
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
    • knitty kitty
      Welcome to the forum, @WildFlower1, Here's an article that explains about the updated gluten challenge guidelines.  Be sure to read the comments below the article. Have you been checked for nutritional deficiencies?  Low iron can affect antibody production, causing false negatives on antibody testing.  Do you currently struggle with low iron?   Low Vitamin D can cause amenorrhea, cessation of menstrual periods.   Correcting nutritional deficiencies is a big part of Celiac disease.  We don't absorb well the eight essential B vitamins and other vitamins and minerals like calcium, resulting in osteopenia, hair loss, infertility, and neurological symptoms.  Unfortunately, doctors are not given much training in nutritional deficiencies and don't recognize the connection with the malabsorption of Celiac disease. We get very frustrated here with doctors ordering us to put a harmful substance in our bodies in order for them to say "that makes you sick".   Duh, we know that already. Do try to increase your consumption of gluten for at least two weeks before retesting.  Eat the chewy kinds of breads.  Cookies and cakes don't have as much gluten in them as those chewy artisan breads and thick pizza crusts. I admire your tenacity at continuing the gluten challenge.  Do keep us posted on your progress.  We'll continue to support you on your journey to diagnosis and recovery.
×
×
  • Create New...