Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Mashed Potatoes In A Box


learning2BGF

Recommended Posts

learning2BGF Newbie

Hi! I am still experiencing foods for the first time after becoming completely gluten-free. I ate a small serving of instant mashed potatoes tonight (that I did not make), and I started feeling gassy only a half hour or so afterwards. I am allergic to gluten, and dairy. There must be one of those ingredients in that instant mashed potato mix. Does anyone know for sure if that is true?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Jestgar Rising Star

Unless they were made in the same pot that's used to make pasta.

ciamarie Rookie

I have some instant potatoes (honest earth) that I can't eat due to sulfites (used in processing), and the ingredients are: potatoes, butter and sea salt. So quite possibly there was some dairy in yours.

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

I suggest reading the ingredients.

Potatoes are a vegetable, but are considered a starch and are high in carbs. High starch/carbs give lots of people gas.

Doesn't mean the boxed potatoes didnt contain gluten, but I'd check the ingredients. Don't assume it was gluten (like you shouldn't assume a procrssed food is gluten-free).

bridgetm Enthusiast

Instant as in potato flakes? Some brands add milk. Ask the person who made them what kind it was? When buying instant potatoes yourself, compare brands and take the one with the fewest ingredients. Some contain just potatoes and a few preservatives while others add flavoring or ingredients to make them "light and fluffy."

However, CC is a likely possibility whenever you eat something made by someone else, whether the pot is used for other things, like Jestgar suggested, or the cook had gluten-y foods going at the same time and dropped some flour or dipped the wrong spoon by accident.

Juliebove Rising Star

Mashed potatoes from a box made as directed will contain dairy. You are supposed to put in milk and butter or margarine. Yes, you can get margarine without dairy but most contains it. Some mashed potatoes already have the milk and/or butter right in the mix.

So unless the person who made them knew that you couldn't have dairy and actually knew what dairy was (most people assume that margarine is always dairy free), you consumed dairy.

I have some mashed potatoes in front of me now that are dairy free. I just used water intstead of the milk and Nucoa margarine. Because they are lacking in flavor this way, I added a bit more Nucoa and more salt and pepper. You can also use rice/soy/almond milk or vegetable/chicken/beef broth in place of the milk. I don't happen to usually care for how they come out when I do that. However the mashed potatoes that they used to put in the Ian's kid's meals were da bomb! They used rice milk in those. I always wished I could buy just the potatoes. And then they changed to the Alphatots which are good but I don't like them as much as I liked the potatoes.

There is also a very good chance that the person who made them cross contaminated you. Even if they did use a safe margarine, how do you know they didn't use that same margarine on some wheat bread and then got little crumbs in it?

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I like Paradise mashed potatoes. The only ingredient is potatos. Most including those have you add milk. If you are intolerant of casien (milk protein) almost all butter replacements have casien and or soy. Real butter however is safe for most who are dairy intolerant. I've used it for years since I found that out and had no problems. It is very, very low in both casien and lactose. There is also ghee which is clarified butter which is lactose and casien free. My mom used to make her own by melting the butter and then just skimming the clear stuff, the ghee, off the top. If the meal was made in someone else's kitchen chances are pretty high you were CC'd.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cap6 Enthusiast

The instant stuff isn't really that nutritious bu if you really want some (and they sure are fast!) some of the Idahoan poachages say gluten free on them. just read them as a couple of kinds are not ok.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,021
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    SMcBz
    Newest Member
    SMcBz
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      Hi @Karmmacalling I'm very sorry to hear you are feeling so unwell.  Can you tell us exactly what sort of pain you are experiencing and where the pain is?  Is it your lower abdomen, upper abdomen etc?  Do you have any other symptoms? Cristiana
    • trents
      The NIH article you link actually supports what I have been trying to explain to you: "Celiac disease (celiac disease) is an autoimmune-mediated enteropathy triggered by dietary gluten in genetically prone individuals. The current treatment for celiac disease is a strict lifelong gluten-free diet. However, in some celiac disease patients following a strict gluten-free diet, the symptoms do not remit. These cases may be refractory celiac disease or due to gluten contamination; however, the lack of response could be related to other dietary ingredients, such as maize, which is one of the most common alternatives to wheat used in the gluten-free diet. In some celiac disease patients, as a rare event, peptides from maize prolamins could induce a celiac-like immune response by similar or alternative pathogenic mechanisms to those used by wheat gluten peptides. This is supported by several shared features between wheat and maize prolamins and by some experimental results. Given that gluten peptides induce an immune response of the intestinal mucosa both in vivo and in vitro, peptides from maize prolamins could also be tested to determine whether they also induce a cellular immune response. Hypothetically, maize prolamins could be harmful for a very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients, especially those that are non-responsive, and if it is confirmed, they should follow, in addition to a gluten-free, a maize-free diet." Notice that those for whom it is suggested to follow a maize-free diet are a "very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients". Please don't try to make your own experience normative for the entire celiac community.  Notice also that the last part of the concluding sentence in the paragraph does not equate a gluten-free diet with a maize-free diet, it actually puts them in juxtaposition to one another. In other words, they are different but for a "limited subgroup of celiac disease patients" they produce the same or a similar reaction. You refer to celiac reactions to cereal grain prolamins as "allergic" reactions and "food sensitivity". For instance, you say, "NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing" and "IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. I need to remind you that celiac disease is not an allergy, it is an autoimmune disorder. Neither allergy testing nor food sensitivity testing can be used to diagnose celiac disease. Allergy testing and food sensitivity testing cannot detect the antibodies produced by celiac disease in reaction to gluten ingestion.  You say of me, "You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant . . ." Gluten intolerance is synonymous with celiac disease. You must be referring to gluten sensitivity or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity). Actually, I have been officially diagnosed with celiac disease both by blood antibody testing and by endoscopy/positive biopsy. Reacting to all cereal grain prolamins does not define celiac disease. If you are intent on teaching the truth, please get it straight first.
    • Bebygirl01
      Perhaps you would still like to answer the questions I posed on this topic, because that is all I asked. I am curious to know the answers to those questions, I do not care about the background of Dr. Osborne as I am more aware of the situation than you are, and he is also one of the best known authors out there on Celiac disease. But did you even bother to read the three Research Papers I posted by NIH? You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant and not yet reacting to all glutens aka grains, but I AM one of those who react to ALL the glutens, and again, that is one of the two questions I originally posted on this matter. NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing. I started with the failed FDA explanation of what Gluten Free is and I stayed sick and got even sicker. It wasn't until I came across NIH's papers and went off all grains that I realized that in fact, I am Celiac and reacting to all the glutens. IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. Those who are just getting started with learning about grains etc., can take it easy by just being "grain free' and eating a lot of meat, vegetables, etc. or whole foods as God has intended, without buying so called gluten free garbage out there that is making them sick and the whole reason they are not better. I tried the stupid gluten free garbage and it didn't work, and that will make anyone want to give up, it is better to teach the entire truth and let the patient decide, rather than give them misinformation and lies.
    • Nicola McGuire
      Thank you so much I will speak to the doctor for dietician apt . Thank you for your advice Beth much appreciated 
    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
×
×
  • Create New...