Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Sushi Rice Sometimes Not Gluten Free


GlutenFree-MLDub

Recommended Posts

GlutenFree-MLDub Rookie

I knew this was a questionable area and haven't located an exact answer on the forum here, but I just found out a little bit more tonight at a sushi restaurant in Bellevue, WA.

Awhile ago, I discovered there is a rice vinegar that contains a gluten ingredient. I can't seem to find that now, but will keep looking.

In the meantime, this restaurant wouldn't let me get nigiri sushi (on rice) because they use mirin to make the rice. I can't find a mirin with gluten in it so far, but what they told me is that they cut it with soy sauce (or it comes that way?). It gives it more flavor and mirin is expensive, so it reduces cost. The manager said 99 percent of sushi restaurants use mirin and not rice vinegar. I'm not sure that's accurate, but it gives me pause and it explains why some people get sick when they eat sushi.

I don't know if that means they always cut mirin with soy sauce, but I found evidence of this method with this recipe here: Open Original Shared Link

(oops. Correction. This recipe is not for sushi rice, so I'll still be looking for more evidence that this is the case)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GlutenFree-MLDub Rookie

Ah, here we go. This mirin has fermented wheat protein as an ingredient. (You have to click on the 'nutritional info' link to see the ingredients)

It doesn't indicate why theirs has soy sauce in it, but it's some evidence that it exists. I'm glad I finally found this. Another restaurant showed me this before and a the time I didn't know what mirin was so I couldn't find it again...

Open Original Shared Link

Pauliewog Contributor

That Kikkoman product is not real mirin. It says mirin style seasoning. The first ingredient is corn. Mirin is made from rice. For example this Eden Foods brand is "mirin." Of course the question is what a restaurant uses. If a restaurant is using the "mirin style" then they are clearly cutting corners and are not a quality Japanese place!

Open Original Shared Link

GlutenFree-MLDub Rookie

It's true that a nice restaurant wouldn't use that 'mirin style' stuff. Open Original Shared Link is one of the nicer ones around and they use mirin to season their rice, but they cut it with soy sauce. Another restaurant I was at a couple years ago told me the brand of the rice vinegar they use (and it was a nice place as well), but that brand of rice vinegar had either wheat or barley in it. I can't recall that one. I wouldn't be so sure nice restaurants don't cut corners to save money... particularly ones that are going out of their way to make sure they have amazing fresh fish. I wouldn't expect a nice place to use this mirin style stuff, but for me, it was just evidence that there is wheat sometimes in these products... this one obviously has corn in it and is garbage.

I was hoping for more detailed info from others who have talked to restaurants about their rice vinegar.

tarnalberry Community Regular

I hate sushi places that serve not-real sushi.

Heck, mirin is not all that hard to MAKE.

(We got to a little hole-in-the-wall place on 112th and 12th, just across from the library. It's GREAT!)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,768
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JAEL53
    Newest Member
    JAEL53
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      Thank you knitty kitty!!  I appreciate your help and knowledge!
    • knitty kitty
      Welcome to the forum, @Bebee, Yes, Celiac Disease has genetic commonalities with MS, hypothyroidism, arthritis, Reynaud, and rosacea.   Usually a gluten challenge is done before endoscopy with biopsies taken,  however I would not recommend a gluten challenge before endoscopy with biopsies for you since you have been gluten free for so long and have so many concurrent autoimmune diseases.   You can still have the endoscopy with biopsy samples taken now.  After several months with dietary changes, you can have another to compare results and check that intestinal health has improved.   You can get a genetic test for Celiac disease which shares genetics with other autoimmune diseases that you have.  Eating gluten is unnecessary for genetic tests. For the rosacea, get checked for SIBO (Small Intestinal Bacterial Overgrowth) that could be causing gastrointestinal symptoms as well as causing skin issues.  Our skin is a reflection of our gastrointestinal health.     Following the Autoimmune Protocol Diet has been helpful in keeping my own rosecea, eczema, and dermatitis herpetiformis and other autoimmune diseases in check.   Be sure to be checked for nutritional deficiencies that occur easily in gluten free and dairy free diets. Keep us posted on your progress! References: Clustering of autoimmune diseases in patients with rosacea https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26830864/ And... Celiac disease and risk of microscopic colitis: A nationwide population-based matched cohort study https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36939488/
    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • bluebird2032
      Gluten free/ non dairy , low calorie pudding ideas please?
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
×
×
  • Create New...