Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Heavy Whipping Cream Gluten-Free?


KnightRobby

Recommended Posts

KnightRobby Enthusiast

I just did some searching around about this and saw a reply on Wiki Answers about this at: Open Original Shared Link The only reason I ask is because of the reply on Wiki Answers, but I am sure they were using a different kind of Heavy Whipping Cream...

Anyway, I have a Great Value brand in front of me and it has no milk and I have checked the ingredients with the ingredients to avoid on celiac.com Everything seems to be fine. Here are the ingredients: Ultra-pasterized Heavy Cream, Carrageenan, Mono and Diglycerides, polysorbate 80.

I have used this in the past to make Fettuccine Alfredo - which is one of the foods I eat a lot. I'm thinking it should be fine...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GottaSki Mentor

It is gluten free. The person referenced in the wiki answer sounds like she might be dairy intolerant.

No need to avoid dairy unless you are finding you are having trouble with it - some folks need to avoid dairy when first gluten-free because it is hard to digest when the villi of the small intestine are damaged.

psawyer Proficient

Milk, cream and butter are naturally gluten-free. If something is added to them, it is possible that gluten could be present. The only case I can imagine would be chocolate flavored milk, which could possibly contain barley malt.

kareng Grand Master

I just did some searching around about this and saw a reply on Wiki Answers about this at: Open Original Shared Link The only reason I ask is because of the reply on Wiki Answers, but I am sure they were using a different kind of Heavy Whipping Cream...

Anyway, I have a Great Value brand in front of me and it has no milk and I have checked the ingredients with the ingredients to avoid on celiac.com Everything seems to be fine. Here are the ingredients: Ultra-pasterized Heavy Cream, Carrageenan, Mono and Diglycerides, polysorbate 80.

I have used this in the past to make Fettuccine Alfredo - which is one of the foods I eat a lot. I'm thinking it should be fine...

If you have decided to avoid milk...you do realize that Cream is milk?

mushroom Proficient

If you have decided to avoid milk...you do realize that Cream is milk?

Or, at the very least, contains lots of lactose. Churning it into butter would remove most of the lactose (although not all)

GottaSki Mentor

Just read your post regarding giving up milk. This would mean you need to give up cream as well. You can make sauces with rice milk, almond milk or coconut milk.

KnightRobby Enthusiast

Yeah, I am finding I am having a ton of trouble with milk products. So right now I am definitely dairy intolerant. I honestly had no idea. I just found out a bunch of products have milk in them and this is why I am feeling so terrible. I am glad that I am finding out so much in such a short time-frame from being diagnoses with Celiac.

BTW, I did some research on milk alternatives and did find out about rice milk, etc. I am thinking about trying rice milk at this time, since I have read some reviews claiming to taste similar to regular cow's milk. Of course I'll have to supplement the Vitamns, etc from cow's milk with other foods.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GottaSki Mentor

Rice milk doesn't really taste like cow's milk, but to pour over milk and cook with it is a great substitution. You might want to grab one rice and one almond at the store. I have one son that prefers almond and one that prefers rice - no telling which you'll prefer.

IrishHeart Veteran

or try So Delicious Coconut milk. Tastes great, has lots of calcium and works well in just about every recipe that calls for milk.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,013
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    pawious25
    Newest Member
    pawious25
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      Perhaps you would still like to answer the questions I posed on this topic, because that is all I asked. I am curious to know the answers to those questions, I do not care about the background of Dr. Osborne as I am more aware of the situation than you are, and he is also one of the best known authors out there on Celiac disease. But did you even bother to read the three Research Papers I posted by NIH? You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant and not yet reacting to all glutens aka grains, but I AM one of those who react to ALL the glutens, and again, that is one of the two questions I originally posted on this matter. NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing. I started with the failed FDA explanation of what Gluten Free is and I stayed sick and got even sicker. It wasn't until I came across NIH's papers and went off all grains that I realized that in fact, I am Celiac and reacting to all the glutens. IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. Those who are just getting started with learning about grains etc., can take it easy by just being "grain free' and eating a lot of meat, vegetables, etc. or whole foods as God has intended, without buying so called gluten free garbage out there that is making them sick and the whole reason they are not better. I tried the stupid gluten free garbage and it didn't work, and that will make anyone want to give up, it is better to teach the entire truth and let the patient decide, rather than give them misinformation and lies.
    • Nicola McGuire
      Thank you so much I will speak to the doctor for dietician apt . Thank you for your advice Beth much appreciated 
    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
×
×
  • Create New...