Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Wrigley's Gum- Gluten-Free?


Em314

Recommended Posts

Em314 Explorer

Have looked into Wrigleys' and am feeling kind of confused about their gluten-free status. There's info, but nothing especially recent.

Their AUNZ site lists gluten-free products, but the US site kind of passes the buck:

Do Wrigley’s products contain gluten?

While some Wrigley products may contain gluten, the majority of our products are gluten-free. In general, we avoid using ingredients that contain gluten where they serve no functional purpose or can be replaced by gluten-free alternatives; however, ingredients and formulas may vary between regions. When the use of ingredients containing gluten is critical to the product taste experience, we follow all labeling requirements to allow our consumers to make an informed choice. We always advise consumers who are concerned about food sensitivities to read the label and check with their doctor if they have questions.

My big question is on the ingredient "HYDROGENATED STARCH HYDROLYSATE," which sometimes means gluten and sometimes does not.

I know folks have reported having "symptoms" after, but I also knw the articial sweeteners can cause similar symptoms.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Em314 Explorer

I have emailed the company and will post when they get back to me.

Some additional info, which kind of conflicts:

On the side of "Wrigley's gum is generally safe:"

about.com's list of gluten-free candies: Open Original Shared Link

and list of gluten-free gums: Open Original Shared Link

A rather alarming seeming-contradiction, from their own web site:

From Open Original Shared Link which is the AU/NZ's site, and the page specifically for nutrition information in Juicy Fruit gum:

Gluten free : yes

MADE OF: SUGAR, GUM BASE, WHEAT GLUCOSE SYRUP, THICKNER (1404), EMULSIFIER (322, FROM SOY), FLAVOUR, HUMECTANT (422), SWEETNERS (955, 961), GLAZING AGENT (903), ANTIOXIDANT (321). CONTAINS INGREDIENTS FROM SOY.

...WHAT???

Perhaps it's just a typo? EXCEPT, from their aunz web site, their comment on what is gluten free Open Original Shared Link

We can confirm our sugar free products do not contain ingredients derived from wheat sources and therefore are gluten free. Our sugar free products are listed below:

- EXTRA® - Peppermint, Spearmint, Sweetmint, Strawberry

- EXTRA® Professional - Strongmint, Spearmint, White and Lemon Lime

- Extra® Active™- Berry, Peppermint, Spearmint, Watermelon

- ECLIPSE® Ice - Peppermint, Spearmint

- ECLIPSE® Mints - Peppermint, Spearmint, Cool Breeze, Intense, Berry

- 5® - Cobalt (peppermint), Electro (spearmint), Tempest (watermelon), Vortex (green apple) and Cirrus (blueberry)

- P.K® - Peppermint, Blue

- Juicyfruit®

- Hubba Bubba® - Grape, Strawberry, Cola

We trust this information is useful, but strongly recommend you consult your local medical practitioner to ensure our ingredients in no way conflict with your particular medical circumstances.

For further information, please do not hesitate to contact us on 1300 721 831 (within Australia) or 0800 408 364 (within New Zealand).

Updated 18 September 2012

Is there something I'm missing, or is this actually alarming? Or are most brands this difficult to figure out?

auzzi Newbie

This is the most important part, with regards to international manufacturers:

"...ingredients and formulas may vary between regions..."

I doubt that chewing gum made in Australia would be exported ..

Modern technology currently can test gluten levels of more than 3 ppm (mg/kg). To qualify as "gluten-free" in Australia & New Zealand, the product in question must contain ‘no detectable gluten’ [be less than 3pmm], or be naturally-gluten free.

Some wheat products - glucose syrup, Caramel colour (150) and Dextrose - are so highly processed, that they are gluten free. They are tested.

By Australian & New Zealand Law, as they originate from wheat, this must be indicated on the label in bold, but as they are "gluten free", they are not listed as as allergen.

Em314 Explorer

I understand that, auzzi. What alarmed me was that the Wrigley corporation seemed to be listing a product with a wheat ingredient (as a primary ingredient, no less!) as gluten-free, which made me feel a bit uneasy about the *company* overall. The ingredients are clearly either different in the US, or have different names.

I by the way *suspect* a lot of the info that I was finding about gluten in Wrigley's was based on the PDF of gluten-free aunz gum (a lot of it looked like copy/paste of that exact list), which is an additional worry.

Am curious exactly how much processing would be needed for the *third* ingredient being made form wheat would have to happen to actually render it gluten-free. Is this a common thing? Do you remember where you got that info (link, or source)? (I am OK with a lot of processing; I'm just wondering about this for future reference as it seems likely to come up again in some way shape or form.)

Em314 Explorer

Response:

Dear Em314,

Thanks for asking about the gluten in Wrigley products. We understand it’s important to you to know the ingredients that are in the food you eat, and we’d be happy to share the information with you.

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.

The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]

The hydrogenated starch hydrolysate in our gums is from potato.

All U.S. Wrigley chewing gum ( including the one's you mentioned) and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:

• Altoids® Chocolate Dipped Mints (made on equipment that also processes wheat which is stated in the “Allergy Information” line)

• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is stated in the ingredient line)

• Hubba Bubba® Gummi Tape Candy (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which is stated in the ingredient line)

If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

We hope this information has been helpful. If you have any additional questions or comments please feel free to contact us at 1-800-WRIGLEY Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

Have a sweet day,

Sincerely,

Sandy Barnes

Consumer Care Representative

8000342630

  • 2 years later...
jjCO5280 Newbie

2/12/15 - Here is the response I received from Wrigley's when asking about LifeSavers mints:

 

Yes, all Life Savers are gluten free.

 

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled in accordance with applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004.  Any food materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient statement, when present in our products.

 

The FDA allows voluntary labeling of “gluten-free” for foods that inherently do not contain gluten or contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains.

Our products listed below have been tested to comply with the FDA’s definition of gluten-free and are labeled as “gluten-free” on the package:
• Skittles® Bite Size Candies
• Starburst® Fruit Chews
• Starburst® GummiBursts® Original and Sour Flavors

 

Our products listed below contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and thus may contain gluten.  These products are labeled accordingly as containing wheat within the ingredient statement:
• Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is listed in the ingredient statement)
• Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which are listed in the ingredient statements)

 

The rest of our products have not been tested to be labeled as “gluten-free”.  If your sensitivity extends to other types of gluten or if you are extremely sensitive to gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley or crossbreeds of these grains, then you may want to consult with your physician prior to consuming our products.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,724
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    HNB
    Newest Member
    HNB
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      Hi Marie Welcome to the forum. I am so sorry your daughter is pointing the finger at you like this.   I am afraid children of any age can be very cruel to their parents - I certainly look back at some of the things I said to my mother and father in the past, and wish I could unsay them.  Sometimes people just need a safe place to vent, and unfortunately having a go at one's parents is the all too easy option.  If she is anything like me, she will regret what she says one day.  (Oh... if only I had the chance rewind the clock!) I just wanted to add one more thing to Trent's and Scott's excellent posts and that is regarding diet:  I have to say, not one person  (my nutritionist, my gastroenterologist or GP) has EVER suggested that a poor diet was the cause of my coeliac disease.    In all the various clinics I have attended these past nearly 12 years no-one has ever asked if I was brought up on processed food, or questioned if I eat 5 fruit and veg a day.  Sure, unfortunately I am only too well aware that I could do a lot better with my diet and it's a constant challenge for me not to give into what I like (unfortunately I've always had a sweet tooth).   But I know some super healthy 10 fruit and veg a day types who still got coeliac disease, and equally, a lot of people who eat all the wrong stuff and they still have cast iron stomachs. Do encourage her to get checked though - it may be that she hasn't got coeliac disease at all. Come back to us if you need any more support through the process. Cristiana
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Marie70! The first thing to know is that celiac disease has a genetic base. The two main genes that have been identified as providing the potential to develop celiac disease are HLA-DQ2 and HLA-DQ8. About 40% of  the general population carries one or both of these genes. However, only about 1% of the general population ever develops celiac disease. So, we know that in addition to possessing the genetic potential to develop celiac disease, there has to be some triggering environmental or medical "stress" factor (or factors) that switches the gene or genes on such that they are awakened from their latent condition and become active. What may be the triggering factor (or factors) is the subject of much debate. Here is an article that discusses this subject: Second, what will your daughter have to say if her testing for celiac disease is negative? She may have to add crow to her diet. Third, and this is what I really want to focus on because my wife and I are dealing with something similar in our relationship with our own adult daughter: the real problem is not whatever shortcomings you, as the family cook, may have had when providing meals, the real problem is with your daughter's heart/soul/attitude. If it turns out to be true that she has celiac disease, it is likely she would have developed the condition sooner or later even if her diet had been healthier while growing up. She is angry about the prospect of having to deal with the dietary and social limitations that having celiac disease would impose upon her. She doesn't want to face up to the fact that this may be a new reality that will dramatically changer her life and she is looking for someone or something to blame. And she has conveniently turned her wrath on you rather than saying to herself, "Okay, this is what it is. Now what can I do to make adjustments in order to with it the best way I can?"  When faced with a life-changing reality, people will either accept it for what it is, make adjustments and move on or they will become angry and look for something or someone to blame and get stuck. For now, at least, your daughter has chosen the latter option. Don't let her problem destroy both of you.
    • Scott Adams
      It sounds like you’re carrying a lot of guilt, but please know that you didn’t cause your daughter’s potential celiac disease or your son’s Crohn’s. These conditions have strong genetic components, and while diet can influence symptoms, it does not cause autoimmune diseases. You did the best you could with the knowledge you had at the time, and no parent is perfect. Your daughter’s frustration is understandable, but it’s likely coming from a place of fear and uncertainty rather than true blame. Let her get tested, and if she does have celiac disease, you can support her moving forward. Instead of focusing on guilt, try shifting the conversation toward healing and learning together. You’re not alone, and you don’t deserve to carry this weight on your own. This article might be helpful. She needs to be screened for celiac disease before she can be sure that she has it. Another approach not discussed in the article is a genetic test for celiac disease, which she could do without eating gluten.      
    • Marie70
      Hello, My mid twenties daughter is blaming my husband and I for her celiac disease.  She has not been diagnosed at all, but GOOGLE has informed her she has it.  She is going to go get tested now, but my question is, did we?  I was not the best cook while she was growing up and often made quick processed food for meals.  She is blaming us for what she ate growing up and is angry that we didn't feed her better.  I don't know how to react and all I could tell her was I was sorry.  Her older brother has Crohn's disease and he was diagnosed as a teenager.  She is also furious with us that we didn't change his diet either.  I don't know why I didn't and I am having so much guilt I don't even know how to handle this situation.  Both sides of our family have a history of IBS, Celiac and Crohn's disease.   I guess I just wanted to hear from anyone out there that can either point blame at me (I can accept it) or tell me that the food she ate growing up didn't have an affect on her.  I am thinking it most likely did. Thank you, Marie
    • RMJ
      I’d say celiac is likely.  Please continue to eat plenty of gluten until your endoscopy to be sure that any gluten-related damage can be seen.  Plus it gives you one last chance to enjoy your favorite gluten-containing foods. I hope the endoscopy/biopsies give you a definitive answer. 
×
×
  • Create New...