Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Any Issues With Kind Bars?


pianoland

Recommended Posts

pianoland Rookie

The apple cinnamon and pecan Kind bar wasn't too kind to me this afternoon.

I had it with Starbucks coffee so maybe it was just hard on my stomach, but I haven't experienced such bad stomach issues in a long time.

I'll mention that I had Starbucks coffee last week (with a chocolate/peanut butter Kind bar) without issue.

Ingredients: Almonds, cashews, pecans, dried apples (apples, evaporated cane juice), honey, non GMO glucose, raisins, crisp rice, flax seeds, chicory root fiber, soy lecithin, cinnamon.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Some days bars like Kind+ are just too sweet for me. And too sweet upsets my stomach. That's just me, though.

And then it's virus season....so hopefully it was just the bar and coffee...

jebby Enthusiast

I used to love KIND bars but began to react to them last spring and thought I was getting cross-contaminated. Since then I have been diagnosed with a sulfite intolerance, and looking back, my GI reactions were likely due to the sulfites in the dried fruits. Just something to consider. I was able to eat KIND bars for my first 2 years being gluten-free without a problem.

dilettantesteph Collaborator

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

burdee Enthusiast

The apple cinnamon and pecan Kind bar wasn't too kind to me this afternoon.

I had it with Starbucks coffee so maybe it was just hard on my stomach, but I haven't experienced such bad stomach issues in a long time.

I'll mention that I had Starbucks coffee last week (with a chocolate/peanut butter Kind bar) without issue.

Ingredients: Almonds, cashews, pecans, dried apples (apples, evaporated cane juice), honey, non GMO glucose, raisins, crisp rice, flax seeds, chicory root fiber, soy lecithin, cinnamon.

I have 'issues' (diagnosed allergies) to evaporated cane juice from cane sugar and soy lecithin from soy. So I won't eat Kind bars.

san-luisa-rey-NYC Newbie

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

Hi, I wrote to Kind Bar manufacturers today to inquire about this. I also wonder whether the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

Opa3 Apprentice

I've been eating these bars for about a year and concerning gluten, been fine with them. Depends on your sensitivity to gluten. GI Doc says I'm OK with 0 to 19 ppm as labeled gluten free. I drink a glass of water with each bar and it helps with digestion.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Kind LLC does label their nutrition bars as gluten free. This means it contains, if any, at 0 to 19 ppm gluten. Err on the side of caution depending on your sensitivity to gluten.

You would need to contact them to see if they test and at what sensitivity. There is no legal definition in the US of gluten free. Testing is not required to label something gluten-free.

Opa3 Apprentice

.............. the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

Thanks for posting this Vit. E issue. I looked at my MultiVit. which listed Vit E(60 IU, 200%DV) as dL alpha T( the synthetic version). Need to find a new brand now.

IrishHeart Veteran

Thanks for posting this Vit. E issue. I looked at my MultiVit. which listed Vit E(60 IU, 200%DV) as dL alpha T( the synthetic version). Need to find a new brand now.

Synthetic vitamin E is often made from petroleum sources.

Hi, I wrote to Kind Bar manufacturers today to inquire about this. I also wonder whether the issue may be the Alpha Tocopheryl / Vitamin E (most typically from wheat germ), which is known to be very susceptible to cross-contamination, since it is, after all, WHEAT.

Regarding Vitamin E and mixed tocopherols. This is a frequent question on here.

Of course, we should not eat wheat germ, but the oil is highly refined.

If a food or supplement includes as an ingredient vitamin E derived from wheat germ oil that is not

highly refined, and the vitamin E contains wheat protein, the word wheat

must be included on the label, either in the ingredients list or "Contains: ":

Tocopherols are a class of organic chemicals that are usually rich in vitamin E, a natural preservative. They can be derived from a number of sources. The most common is soybean oil, although wheat germ oil can also be used. Tocopherols are highly refined extracts from refined oils, and are gluten-free.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists tocopherols as a safe ingredient in food, without exception.

please, read this article by Tricia Thompson, a celiac savvy dietician,.

http://www.glutenfre...mOilBlog.14.pdf

cavernio Enthusiast

Yes, I did have problems with them. I really liked them, but I had to give them up. I am intolerant to oat avenin as well as gluten, and they make oat containing products. I assume that is why they bothered me.

}:-(  I hate that oats are in everything. Thanks for the heads up, I just discovered kind bars a couple weeks ago (rather, I finally caved into their high price because I found I couldn't eat the nuts had been eating.)

 

My vitamin E is from non GMO soy, and it's just a regular Jamieson vitamin, labelled gluten free of course.

  • 1 year later...
Shell156 Apprentice

I'm a little late, and it could be the kind bars but….

 

I've been glutened by Starbucks a number of times. They sometimes sample/handle pastries and although they use pastry tongs or gloves, they still can cause minute cross contamination on hands, cups etc.

 

I can have an americano one day and be fine, but another day order the exact same thing and get a reaction. If someone cute up a pastry earlier that day and then grabbed the cups or made my drink I'm in trouble.

Roda Rising Star

My youngest son and I don't eat Kind bars because of the cc from gluten free oats.  My oldest son is fine with them. 

quincy Contributor

I googled this topic and here it is!  Like the first poster last year, I usually have a Kind bar with an iced latte at Starbucks. Lately though, I am getting like an indigestion. I eat a Kind bar every day, it's my go-to quick snack on the go.  

 

Maybe it's the cc with oats?  Or maybe the Starbucks, but I heard the plain latte's are reasonably safe.

 

I get the worst constrochondritis-type pain in my sternum and pain in the ribs there after having this combo.

 

I don't think they are certified gluten free, are they?

  • 2 weeks later...
Brandiwine Contributor

I have GI issues every time I eat KIND bars, I just assumed I had a sensitivity to ANOTHER food...  

quincy Contributor

I have GI issues every time I eat KIND bars, I just assumed I had a sensitivity to ANOTHER food...  

I started eating the chocolate and sea salt ones after only eating the Madagascar Vanilla.  I stopped completely and now I tried the Madagascar again and it wasn't as bad.  Honestly, the product does not say certified gluten free, so I really don't know the ppm's of the product.  Plus it does not indicate anything about oats, which would definitely bother me.

 

any conclusions?  have you stopped Kind bars altogether?

  • 1 month later...
SoLacey Newbie

I definitely react to KIND bars.  They are gluten free up to the USDA standard of 20PPM, that's still too much for me.  I'm only able to eat certified gluten free foods. 

kareng Grand Master

I definitely react to KIND bars.  They are gluten free up to the USDA standard of 20PPM, that's still too much for me.  I'm only able to eat certified gluten free foods. 

 

You know they are tested at that level?  I looked on the website and couldn't tell so I have emailed them.

 

Also, some certified gluten-free are tested at <20 ppm.  that does not mean that they have 19 ppm.  they could have 1 ppm or 0

SoLacey Newbie

I don't know, I'm still fairly new to all of this.  I was reacting to them so I did some searching and found articles like this one:  http://www.glutenfreeislife.com/?p=6488

 

My understanding is that gluten free was gluten-free up to 20PPM, certified gluten free was gluten-free up to 10PPM and Celiac Sprue certified meant gluten free up to 5PPM. 

 

My nutritionist has restricted me to only certified gluten free foods, I was still reacting to products labeled gluten free.  I do wonder though, is even certified gluten-free still too much??  Just because we don't react to that amount, there is still some gluten in it.

kareng Grand Master

I don't know, I'm still fairly new to all of this.  I was reacting to them so I did some searching and found articles like this one:  http://www.glutenfreeislife.com/?p=6488

 

My understanding is that gluten free was gluten-free up to 20PPM, certified gluten free was gluten-free up to 10PPM and Celiac Sprue certified meant gluten free up to 5PPM. 

 

My nutritionist has restricted me to only certified gluten free foods, I was still reacting to products labeled gluten free.  I do wonder though, is even certified gluten-free still too much??  Just because we don't react to that amount, there is still some gluten in it.

 

 

That isn't how the testing works.  They use a test for <10 ppm.  That does not mean it had 9 ppm.  It just means it has less than 10.  0 is less than 10.

powerofpositivethinking Community Regular

for those worried about oat CC, please check out this thread when I e-mailed KIND earlier this year with that question.  Their oat containing products are made on separate lines than the nut bar products.

 

https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/106422-kind-nut-products/?hl=%2Bkind+%2Bbars

IrishHeart Veteran

They never bothered me and I am pretty sensitive to trace CC.

  • 5 years later...
Antonymous-0123 Rookie

I'm very late to this, but finding it a helpful discussion. I'm finding issue with KIND bars, and would state avoid if you are coeliac. Same goes for any product produced in United States and labelled as gluten free. Was made really ill by Naked Smoothies containing wheat grass that they argued was gluten free. Problem is, you don't realise a product is produced in the US as they have a UK address on the packaging. I know it sounds xenophobic, but I do not believe American manufacturers tell the truth at all, and would stick to UK produced products that are certified gluten-free. Too much lying going on in labelling. Another UK brand to avoid for labelled as gluten-free but not certified in Northern Bloc icecream. They do no product test for gluten and do not know if their suppliers as stringent for gluten. Just a bunch of chancers. I would lobby that all products to be marked gluten-free have to be certified as so many manufacturers are either clueless or just plain deceitful. 

cyclinglady Grand Master
On 6/21/2019 at 5:48 PM, Antonymous-0123 said:

I'm very late to this, but finding it a helpful discussion. I'm finding issue with KIND bars, and would state avoid if you are coeliac. Same goes for any product produced in United States and labelled as gluten free. Was made really ill by Naked Smoothies containing wheat grass that they argued was gluten free. Problem is, you don't realise a product is produced in the US as they have a UK address on the packaging. I know it sounds xenophobic, but I do not believe American manufacturers tell the truth at all, and would stick to UK produced products that are certified gluten-free. Too much lying going on in labelling. Another UK brand to avoid for labelled as gluten-free but not certified in Northern Bloc icecream. They do no product test for gluten and do not know if their suppliers as stringent for gluten. Just a bunch of chancers. I would lobby that all products to be marked gluten-free have to be certified as so many manufacturers are either clueless or just plain deceitful. 

Actually, we have a group called the Gluten Free Watchdog 8; the US.  It is kind of like a Consumer Reports that advocates for celiacs and checks products.  The group takes no financial support from any advertisers (just subscribers).  The GFW has found that over 95% of products they have tested meet gluten-free standards.  So, American manufacturers are doing a good job.  

What I have found since my diagnosis is that 20 ppm might be too much for some celiacs.  Some celiacs might be more sensitive.  This, avoiding even 20 ppm might be helpful.  Also if you are new to the diet, it can take up to a year or more to feel well or heal.  It is estimated that about 60% of celiacs due to heal.  At first refractory celiac disease was suspected, but researchers found that celiacs make mistakes despite their best efforts.  Dr. Fasano (Ped GI Boston/Harvard University) recommends a special gluten-free diet for the short term to aid in healing.  This diet consists of two things:  no processed foods (like your Kind Bars) and no eating out (greatest chance of cross contamination).

Personally, I avoid processed foods (except on vacation) and only eat out at Dedicated gluten free restaurants.  This has worked for me.  My last repeat endoscopy revealed a healed small intestine.  You can take more chances once you are well.

I hope you find this helpful.  

kareng Grand Master

Kind do actually test for gluten.  I eat them with no issues 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,002
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Karmmacalling
    Newest Member
    Karmmacalling
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
    • knitty kitty
      Welcome to the forum, @WildFlower1, Here's an article that explains about the updated gluten challenge guidelines.  Be sure to read the comments below the article. Have you been checked for nutritional deficiencies?  Low iron can affect antibody production, causing false negatives on antibody testing.  Do you currently struggle with low iron?   Low Vitamin D can cause amenorrhea, cessation of menstrual periods.   Correcting nutritional deficiencies is a big part of Celiac disease.  We don't absorb well the eight essential B vitamins and other vitamins and minerals like calcium, resulting in osteopenia, hair loss, infertility, and neurological symptoms.  Unfortunately, doctors are not given much training in nutritional deficiencies and don't recognize the connection with the malabsorption of Celiac disease. We get very frustrated here with doctors ordering us to put a harmful substance in our bodies in order for them to say "that makes you sick".   Duh, we know that already. Do try to increase your consumption of gluten for at least two weeks before retesting.  Eat the chewy kinds of breads.  Cookies and cakes don't have as much gluten in them as those chewy artisan breads and thick pizza crusts. I admire your tenacity at continuing the gluten challenge.  Do keep us posted on your progress.  We'll continue to support you on your journey to diagnosis and recovery.
×
×
  • Create New...