Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten In Toothpaste


mama2two

Recommended Posts

mama2two Enthusiast

I know that toothpaste can contain gluten, what ingredients should I look for, which would indicate that my toothpaste contains gluten?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

toothpaste is one of the hardones to know - it hides in natural flavors!

sensodyne and one other sensitive tooth toothepaste are the only two I know of that are a problem.

crest and colgate are all fine.

Lisa Mentor

All Crest flavors are gluten free. (to include Crest Whitening Strips - see :D )

Sweetfudge Community Regular

anyone know what these hidden flavors are?

JennyC Enthusiast

Oral-B won't claim any of their toothpastes are gluten free.

njbeachbum Explorer

I use Aquafresh Extreme Clean Empowermint.... i've seen somewhere that Aquafresh is gluten free. Anyone know for sure? The ingredients don't look too scary....

Alternative mama Apprentice

What about natural and/or organic toothpastes? Are there any that are specifically gluten free or NOT gluten-free?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Crest and Colgate are gluten-free. I don't know about other brands.

home-based-mom Contributor

This is what I got today from GlaxoSmithKline, the makers of Sensodyne:

Thank you for contacting us regarding Sensodyne
psawyer Proficient
[O]ur raw materials suppliers could not guarantee that they are gluten-free.

It is beginning to seem to me that manufacturers are taking the easy way out by blaming the suppliers instead of demanding quality control or threatening to find a new supplier who can provide quality control. :angry:

We will be seeing more and more of this. Everybody is worried about lawsuits and everybody is wanting to avoid taking responsibility for the ingredients they buy from somebody else. They are not "blaming" suppliers, they are just making sure that they do not become responsible (legal liability) for someone else's mistake.

lovegrov Collaborator

"Thank you for contacting us regarding Sensodyne

lovegrov Collaborator

I've never found a toothpaste that definitely has gluten. I won't use Oral B simply because they are uncooperative about all their products.

richard

tarnalberry Community Regular

Sensodyne may have changed something, as - three years ago - they gave me a much more affirmative answer on the gluten. I agree that their current reply sounds like a CYA. (I don't have an email or anything, I called them.)

hathor Contributor
What about natural and/or organic toothpastes? Are there any that are specifically gluten free or NOT gluten-free?

Here is a link I found with the gluten responses of assorted manufacturers. I've been using Tom's of Maine myself. Their response in April of last year is reported as follows:

"Only two of our products contain gluten: Natural Moisturizing Hand Soap liquids (Contains wheat protein) Natural Moisturizing Body Wash (Contains wheat protein) All other Tom's of Maine products are alcohol-free and do not contain casein or caseinate, MSG, wheat, oats, barley, rye, malt, spelt, kamut, HPP, or HVP. None of our flavor oils are grain-distilled. We do not use flour of any kind in our manufacturing process for conveyor belts or for any other purpose. Our containers are not dusted with flour before filling. We hope that this provides you with the information you need to make a healthy choice."

Open Original Shared Link

Edit: forgive the messed up link in my original post. I can't get the link into the final post for some reason. It copies into my draft, but the final version shows something else, which isn't even a real link. I can't figure out what the problem is.

  • 1 month later...
Morgan P. Newbie
I use Aquafresh Extreme Clean Empowermint.... i've seen somewhere that Aquafresh is gluten free. Anyone know for sure? The ingredients don't look too scary....

I called the company (GlaxoSmithKline) today about Sensodyne. They said to not use the Sensodyne because they cannot guarantee that it is gluten-free, but recommended the Aquafresh because they are all gluten-free. I hope this helps.

Morgan

lpellegr Collaborator

I believe I read some time back that Tom's of Maine toothpastes are gluten-free except the children's strawberry - they said the vinegar that was part of the flavoring might not be. This is my memory though - check with them to see for sure.

ive Rookie

Also Arm & Hammer Sensitive toothpaste is gluten-free, as confirmed by e-mail on 02/05/2008.

gluten15 Apprentice

Just be careful..to get back on my carrageenan kick here..lot's of toothepaste contain this too. That's why sadly I quit using Tom's Of Maine.

If you are still having digestive issues..check to see if your toothpaste..and/or other products contain this product.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
Just be careful..to get back on my carrageenan kick here..lot's of toothepaste contain this too. That's why sadly I quit using Tom's Of Maine.

If you are still having digestive issues..check to see if your toothpaste..and/or other products contain this product.

What is the problem with Carrageenan? I use Tom's every day and like the fact that they not only tell you what is in it but also what it is derived from. The Carrageenan says it is derived from seaweed. What is the issue with this, if you don't mind my asking?

loraleena Contributor

Tom's of Maine is gluten free and now you can get a flouride and sodium laurel free version. Both are toxic to the body!!

gluten15 Apprentice
What is the problem with Carrageenan? I use Tom's every day and like the fact that they not only tell you what is in it but also what it is derived from. The Carrageenan says it is derived from seaweed. What is the issue with this, if you don't mind my asking?

Some forms of carrageenan are bad for the digestive tract and can cause ulcerations and cancers of the gastrointestinal tract...also overall disruption to the digestive tract. So even though there are different studies out there..I have decided to cut it from my diet as part of my elimination diet in figuring things out.

A lot of the almond milks, soy milks and rice milks contain it too. It's a thickening agent.

There was a time when our government didn't allow it. It's just a personal choice that I have made as I continue to eliminate things that I believe may be causing some of my problems and things I have decided to not take risk with. I trust what Dr Weil says on a lot of things. He has always been my period opinion after I look something up on the web. He also agrees to stay away from it.

Since cutting it out..mostly via my Silk Soymilk..I am seeing some improvement. Granted..it may be too because I have cut out the soy.

I just like to make people aware and they can make their own decisions.

Hope that helped.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
Some forms of carrageenan are bad for the digestive tract and can cause ulcerations and cancers of the gastrointestinal tract...also overall disruption to the digestive tract. So even though there are different studies out there..I have decided to cut it from my diet as part of my elimination diet in figuring things out.

A lot of the almond milks, soy milks and rice milks contain it too. It's a thickening agent.

There was a time when our government didn't allow it. It's just a personal choice that I have made as I continue to eliminate things that I believe may be causing some of my problems and things I have decided to not take risk with. I trust what Dr Weil says on a lot of things. He has always been my period opinion after I look something up on the web. He also agrees to stay away from it.

Since cutting it out..mostly via my Silk Soymilk..I am seeing some improvement. Granted..it may be too because I have cut out the soy.

I just like to make people aware and they can make their own decisions.

Hope that helped.

Thanks for the reply. Curiosity is my middle name. :) By the way soy was the last link for me. I hope eliminating it gives you the relief I got. I do find it just as hard to avoid as gluten though, actually at this point harder. It seems anything that doesn't have gluten has soy. :angry:

gluten15 Apprentice

Yes..amazing how many things have soy! When I tell people I am avoiding Gluten, Soy, Dairy, Sugar, etc..they only thing of the stuff directly. They think as long as you avoid 'soy' as a whole or 'corn' as a whole..you are fine. They don't realize how many things contain things derived from these items.

I treat it as a game on my own. What can I truly find that doesn't contain anything I am trying to stay away from.

rkd Rookie

I believe that Aquafresh, Aim, Colgate & Crest are all gluten-free...

mushroom Proficient

[quote I do find it just as hard to avoid as gluten though, actually at this point harder. It seems anything that doesn't have gluten has soy. :angry:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,808
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Amy Heavner
    Newest Member
    Amy Heavner
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...