![](https://www.celiac.com/uploads/set_resources_204/84c1e40ea0e759e3f1505eb1788ddf3c_pattern.png)
sunnybabi1986
-
Posts
225 -
Joined
-
Last visited
sunnybabi1986's Achievements
-
-
I use the exact oil you are referring to and have never gotten sick from it. Con Agra will not hide gluten ingredients in the words "artificial flavors" or otherwise, so if there isn't wheat, barley or rye listed, it's safe!
Enjoy! I LOVE that stuff! So much healthier than butter
-
I keep my freezer stocked with Udi's bread and muffins for times when I really really crave gluten. The taste is so similar (go Udi's!) that I can't tell the difference! Also, some good quality gluten free pasta will do the trick for me. Toss it with an olive oil/lemon/garlic/parmesan sauce and I forget all about wanting gluten!
But as others mentioned, it sounds like you may need to talk to a nutritionist or dietician...you may be missing something in your diet that your body really needs.
-
If the oats are not specified as "Certified Gluten Free Oats" then they are NOT safe. They are cross contaminated and should not be eaten.
-
I can't wait for Bisquick. Gluten-free chicken and dumplings! Someone give a shout when you see it.
Same here! The Chicken Pot Pie, Cheesy Biscuits, and fried Chicken recipes on their site are making my mouth water! I'm contacting my local stores to make sure they know to start carrying it as soon as it's available.
-
Yeah, I'll probably pass on the Hamburger Helpers as I make fried rice from scratch all the time, but it's excellent for my family members who are clueless as to what to make when I visit. Hopefully this will give them some ideas/options!
-
Has anyone seen the Gluten free Hamburger helpers in stores yet? I'm crossing my fingers and hoping the stores don't pull one on us and mark them up, just for having the words "gluten free" on them....
-
Hi Scarlett,
Well, Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles are NOT labeled gluten free and the manufacturer makes NO claim that they are gluten free, but they do not contain any gluten ingredients.
I guess the status is that they're made in a dedicated area? However, if the company starts making them on lines with gluten cereal, there could be cross contamination.
Keep this in mind
-
Dr Pepper is gluten free, if that's what you're asking. As far as being healthy, not so much, obviously. But it sure makes for a great treat!
-
We also eat fruity pebbles...and cocoa pebbles, with no issue.
-
It's usually the soy sauce in the beef jerky that contains wheat.
Amazon has a yummy gluten free beef jerky that I love though!
-
That sounds yummy! I will definitely put this on my list of meals to make!
-
You should find a new doctor when you talk to him/her about going off of gluten for awhile because your symptoms fit, and he/she then tells you that celiac is quite rare and very unlikely, and besides, it's really impossible to eliminate gluten from your diet (laughing while he/she says this).
Grrrrr....btw, this "nice" doctor then proceeded to diagnose me with a heart condition (because my heart rate was elevated due to having stomach cramps and diarrhea for weeks), making it next to impossible to get health insurance. I am now "uninsurable" because of all the disturbing possible diagnoses she put in my file
Still fighting with the health insurance companies over this...
-
Udi's is coming out with a hot dog bun?!! When did I miss this? Wow, that would make me jump for joy!
I know I saw that you can use their bagels as a hot dog bun somehow...
-
I know this has been discussed MANY times on here, and the consensus was that Trix is not labeled gluten free, but no one has reported any reactions to it. I've been eating it for the past several months with no reaction.
I checked Clan Thompson's Celiac Food SmartList today, though, and saw that they have it labeled as "NOT gluten free" as of 05/04/2010.
Did I miss something or did they change ingredients? My box looks safe, I double checked the ingredients. Anyone know anything about this?
-
The only pure spices I've seen so far that are not safe are Great Value (Wal-Mart Brand). They disclose that their spices "May contain traces of wheat." on the packaging. However, this is the only instance I've seen where a spice is unsafe. As the others mentioned, McCormick is a great company to trust. ALL of their pure spices (oregano, paprika, thyme, pepper, etc.) are gluten free, and their spices mixes (like marinades) clearly state any allergens on the label. We also use Kroger brand spices and a few other generics. If in doubt, just call the company. It's nice to hear from them that the product is indeed gluten free!
-
Hi!
General Mills has a site with all their gluten free foods listed Open Original Shared Link.
If you click on "products" you get a food list. If you click on "recipes" you get lots of yummy recipes using their products.
AWG makes Always Save, Best Choice, and Clearly Organic products. Their gluten free list is Open Original Shared Link.
Hormel has a gluten free list Open Original Shared Link.
Campbell's has a list Open Original Shared Link.
and Heinz has a list Open Original Shared Link.
I found it really helpful to print these lists off and put them in a binder with dividers. In the store, I can just flip through the binder to find out if the item is on the company's gluten free list. This works great until you can learn to read labels and know company policies. I've given binders to family members so they can buy things for me as well. Just be sure to check the lists occasionally, as they update and change them.
Another good resource for gluten free meal and snack ideas is this page Open Original Shared Link.
Because this list is a year old, be sure to double check the labels before putting the items in your cart, though! Some things may have changed.
Good luck! You'll do fine, this is the most encouraging place to be, on these forums. You'll get a lot of good information here!
-
I've eaten Wendy's chili numerous times without issue. I suspect that what you're talking about is an isolated incident. Something that these workers do at this restaurant only, maybe? I can't imagine that the rest of the workers at the rest of the chain do the same thing. At least, I sure hope not!
Of course, eating at restaurant that serves wheat products is always a bit of a risk. You never know if the workers are following protocol or not.
-
This is a question of language and semantics.
The word "gluten," to a chemist, means the protein of a grain (any grain). All grains contain protein. You may occasionally see "corn gluten" as an ingredient. There is a gluten in rice, as well.
To a dietitian, and to a celiac, the word "gluten" refers only to the proteins of three specific grains: wheat, rye and barley (in Canada, for food labeling purposes, oats are also considered "gluten"). This sense is also that generally understood by the public.
In discussions on this board, unless the context clearly indicates the first sense, you should assume that references to gluten are using the second sense.
Ahhh, I understand. Thanks for clarifying!
-
All grains contain gluten, they just don't all have gliadin in them.
Huh? Where did you find this? Just curious, as this is not what I have learned. There are lots of grains that do not contain any gluten.
-
Gluten free for 7 months (has it really been that long?):
-No constant nausea anymore
-No more stomach cramps and pain!!
-Able to stay awake during the day, although still fighting some fatigue
-No more joint pain and body aches, Hooray!!
-Finally starting to gain a little bit of weight (I'm very underweight)
Hooray for gluten free!! Love this thread, by the way! Very encouraging!
-
Ordering the test from Enterolab was probably the best thing I've ever done in my life. I was sick for months and months, worried sick because I had no health insurance. I read a lot online and celiac/gluten intolerance seemed to match my symptoms well. Still, I was skeptical that I had a problem with gluten and put off going gluten free for awhile. I finally got intensely ill and made the leap to go gluten free. I didn't feel a lot better at first and cheated a few times.
Then, when I got the test back from Enterolab, I saw that I was, in fact, created antibodies to gluten and to my own tissue. That did it for me. I've never cheated since the day I got those results back. I stuck to the diet like glue (no pun intended
) and sure enough, within a couple months, I started feeling immensely better. I am LOADS better than I was this time last year, and were it not for the testing I did with Enterolab, I'm not sure I would have gone through with the 100% gluten free diet.
I have a lot of gratitude for what Enterolab does. It may not be accepted in the mainstream, and there will be skeptics, I completely understand that, but for me, personally, they were such a blessing.
-
This makes me so excited! I saw the news last month and have been scouring my stores, hoping to see the Bisquick mix!
-
Pamela's Products are made in a gluten free dedicated facility, so gluten isn't the culprit, but you may have an intolerance to another ingredient?
-
Oh, by the way, just made a garlic butter sauce with lemon juice, oregano, parsley, Smart Balance, minced garlic, pepper, and parmesan cheese with the pasta. AMAZING!! My son just ate 3 bowls. And he's only 2 1/2
If only the pasta were cheaper!
Acquaintance Claiming There's A Cure For Celiac
in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
Posted
Or maybe accupuncture...I've heard that few times (that it can cure Celiac disease-I wish! We'd all be cured if that were the case!)