-
Welcome to Celiac.com!
You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.
-
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):
-
Get Celiac.com Updates:Support Our Content
-
Celiac.com - Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Support Since 1995
What is Celiac Disease?
Celiac disease (aka coeliac disease) is a genetic autoimmune disorder where ingesting gluten (a protein in wheat, barley, and rye) triggers an immune response that damages the small intestine's lining. This damage leads to inflammation and atrophy of the villi, tiny finger-like projections in the intestine responsible for nutrient absorption. As a result, individuals with celiac disease may experience symptoms like diarrhea, bloating, fatigue, and malnutrition. Over time, untreated celiac disease can lead to more severe health problems, including anemia, osteoporosis, weight loss, and increased risk of certain cancers. A strict gluten-free diet is the only effective treatment. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease, not a wheat allergy. It's also different from non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, or sensitivity to gluten.
My Long Journey to Celiac Disease Diagnosis
Like many people, I spent a lot of years, a lot of dollars, and endured many tests and misdiagnoses, before doctors finally discovered that I had celiac disease (also known as coeliac disease or celiac sprue), and needed to eliminate gluten and all gluten-containing ingredients from my diet. Gluten is a protein found in the three main gluten-containing grains: wheat, rye, and barley; and is often hidden in processed foods, and things like soy sauce and beer...[READ MORE about my long and winding road to a celiac disease diagnosis and recovery.]
Gluten-Free Diet
To treat my celiac disease I had to go on a gluten-free diet for life. That meant learning to read food labels to avoid gluten ingredients, and eating a diet of mostly naturally gluten-free foods like meats, fruits, nuts, vegetables, and packaged foods only if they are certified gluten-free or labeled gluten-free, for example gluten-free breads made using gluten-free grains.
Breaking Celiac Disease News & Info:
-
Get Celiac.com Updates:Support Celiac.com:
-
Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):
-
Recent Activity
-
- Scott Adams replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications22
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
@Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi... -
- Scott Adams replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications22
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid... -
- Bebee posted a topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms0
Testing for celiac
I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF. I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer. And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or... -
- trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications22
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification. In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution... -
- Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications22
Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar
No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a...
-